Born Naked
Triston Palma
I&I Foundation Records

Track list
  1. Born naked
  2. Better days
  3. I'm ready
  4. Since you're gone
  5. Your reputation
  6. If you wanna go
  7. Cool down
  8. Glad you're here
  9. Take my hand
  10. Flesh & blood
  11. Holly holy
  12. Bad boys
  13. Give Jah the glory
  14. Oh Jah Jah
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3/4
The reissues on CD of four Jah Thomas produced Triston Palma albums ("Touch Me, Take Me", "Showcase", "Joker Smoker" and "Triston Palma Meets Jah Thomas In Disco Style Entertainment") in the last year with the addition of this "Born Naked" album makes for a veritable flood of Triston Palma, a singer who is probably best known from early eighties dancehall anthems like "Heartbreaker", "Runaround woman", "Entertainment" - his biggest hit to date - and "Give me a chance". No doubt Triston Palma (sometimes also spelled Tristan and/or Palmer) is one of Jamaica's sweet-voiced singers, who has never limited himself to one style. Whether it is lovers rock, roots & culture or dancehall music, he truly can handle it all and this latest effort proves it once again. Backed by such great musicians as Sly Dunbar, Dean Fraser, Handel Tucker and Danny "Axe Man" Thompson - with Twiggy and Kadian Dixon providing backing vocals - the talents of Triston Palma shine through on this pleasant collection of recent tunes. Standouts on this solid album are the title track "Born naked", Palma's interpretation of John Holt's Studio One classic Stranger in love "Take my hand", "Bad Boys" and "Cool down". Solid riddims, smooth honest singing and the clean & clear lyrics make this a very enjoyable album which makes one longing for more !