Brain Food
Dantan Humble
One World
05 - 04 - 2002

Track list
  1. It's A Feeling
  2. True Love
  3. Bimbo
  4. Kick The Meat
  5. Harbour Sharks
  6. Never Fail I
  7. Don't Fear
  8. Top Ten
  9. Jerral Is A Gambler
  10. Love Rastafari
  11. Ghetto The World Is
  12. Bimbo (Racial Mix)
  13. Harbour Sharks (Harbour Mix)
  14. Never Fail I (Naja Bienge Mix)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4
Singer and songwriter Dantan Humble was born in the Parish of St. James in Jamaica. Inspired by the music and the career of his two well known cousins, the Godfather of DJ's U-Roy and Dr. Alimentado, Dantan Humble also developed his own musical vibe and inspiration to write and play music. He started his career as most Reggae singers and artists in Jamaica, playing and toasting for soundsystems, and he also performed on various calypso competitions in his early days. In 1982 he first travelled Europe where he performed on several occassions throughout the eighties and early nineties. In 1992 he returned to Jamaica where he always finds the right vibe and inspiration for his music and songwriting, but in May 1993 he came back to Germany to concentrate on his career as a recording artist. Thus he was involved in various recording projects with the XS-Gang and the Ark Angels at the Rheinklang and Boris Studios in Germany and the Iris Studios in The Netherlands. From then he released his first single "True Love", which was followed by "Oh Carolina (Recover Version)", "Africa" and "It's A Feeling". Now Dantan Humble presents his debut CD entitled "Brainfood". It's a well varied set which showcases the versatility of this artist. Besides the fact that he writes his own songs Dantan Humble proves that he can sing, singjay and deejay, no matter what kind of riddim he has to ride. Take for example the album opener which sees him perform over a drum & bass backdrop in contrast to the next track, which is a version of a riddim by many reggae fans well known from Garnett Silk's "Zion In A Vision". Although the CD hasn't been mastered that well, which causes an annoying difference in sound volume, and some of the riddim tracks are somewhat outdated, "Brain Food" contains a nice collection of songs. Best tracks are "Kick The Meat", "Jerral Is A Gambler", Love Rastafari" and "Ghetto The World Is"