Tom Fire
Chapter Two Records - Wagram Music
Digital EP
June 27, 2011

Track list
  1. Brainwash feat. Matthew McAnuff
  2. Glissendo
  3. 45 Stories
  4. Little Man
  5. Sa Nitee Lk Sn feat. Kiddus I & Amadou Bagayoko
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
The "Brainwash EP" is the first release from Chapter Two Records, a new label created by Romain Germa and Nicolas Maslowski, the founders of the defunct reissue label Makasound. From the latter's subsidiary labels Black Eye and Makafresh we remember releases like e.g. Winston McAnuff & The BazBaz Orchestra's "A Drop", which wasn't a strictly reggae album, but most of the times these kinda albums had a connection with Jamaican music.

And that's also the case with Tom Fire's mini-album "Brainwash", which musically incorporates a blend of dub, electro, reggae and pop. The title track features Matthew McAnuff, who gained wide recognition with his 2008 released reggae anthem "Be Careful". Here he delivers another serious message tune, but this time it's done over a danceable riddim with a light and cosmic groove, which goes into cross-over territory and surely his potential to become a summer hit. The hot steaming instrumental "Glissendo" has appealing accents of funk and brings to mind the groovy soundtracks of the blaxploitation film genre that emerged in the 1970s. The dubby "45 Stories", the next instrumental, comes with a complete different vibe and feel. "Little Man" is the third instrumental track in a row, an enjoyable one with a relaxing and hypnotic sound. The set is rounded off in fine style with a solid remix of Lk Sn's "Sa Nitee" (feat. Kiddus I & Amadou Bagayoko) from the 2010 released album "Burn".

Almost sure this "Brainwash EP" won't find its way to reggae purists, but music lovers with an open mind should definitely check out this short, but promising collection of tunes.