Brass Rootz International
Jerry Johnson & Neville Anderson
Jerry Johnson
May 25, 2010

Track list
  1. Nuff Said
  2. Rootz Love & Affection
  3. Brass Rootz
  4. My Queen
  5. Illusion
  6. Rain From The Sky
  7. Spring Time
  8. Trouble
  9. Nuff Said Dub
  10. Brass Rootz Dub
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Lead Instruments : 5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
Since the 1970s not that many instrumental reggae albums have been out on the streets and if so they certainly didn't sell in great numbers. Most likely the low sales figures are the main reason why record companies are reluctant when it comes to releasing instrumental albums. So it's often up to the musicians themselves to release their albums on their own independent label. Jerry Johnson is one of those players of instruments who has been forced to do it this way.

"Brass Rootz International" sees Jerry Johnson teaming up with veteran trombonist Neville Anderson, who is based in Thailand where he currently performs with the Bar Code Band. Neville Anderson has been playing the trombone from the age of eight and has been able to reach a number of outstanding achievements in music. Alongside Jerry Johnson he has been featured in countless reggae recordings under the "Bullwackies" label as well as providing horn tracks for other well-known reggae artists such as Sugar Minott, Jerry Harris, Sister Carol, Love Joys and Milton Henry. They also co-wrote "Abashanti Rock" which rose to number 2 in the reggae charts in 1980. Neville had the privilege of performing with several reggae legends such as Roland Alphonso, Horace Andy, Lester Sterling, Sugar Minott, Jerry Harris and Clark Gayton.

These two seasoned musicians deliver a very nice mix of original instrumentals and interpretations of Pressure's "Love & Affection" (recorded for acclaimed reggae dancehall producer Donovan 'Don Corleon' Bennett) and Delroy Wilson's "Rain From The Sky". Their musical efforts are stamped with class all over and it's truly a real joy to listen to each and every track of this album. Personal favourites are the bubbling album opener "Nuff Said", the title track "Brass Rootz", "My Queen", "Illusion" and "Trouble".

To purchase the cd for a fair price go to Ray Hurford's Small Axe website.