Bright Side Of Life
87 Music
November 9, 2009

Track list
  1. Bright Side Of Life
  2. More Than Ever
  3. Outta Control
  4. From The Window
  5. Suffering
  6. Too Rude
  7. Dubzilla
  8. Bump
  9. Lazy Afternoon
  10. Moonlight
  11. Change The System
  12. Wake Up Call
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 3 Backing : 3 Production : 3 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 2
Hailing from Santa Barbara, California, Rebelution has developed into the front runner for grassroots, independent and touring driven music groups representing the Cali-Reggae scene. Originally formed in 2004, members Eric Rachmany (vocals / guitar,) Rory Carey (keyboards,) Wesley Finley (drums,) and Marley D. Williams (bass) met in college, while residing in Isla Vista, a popular beachside community in Santa Barbara. It was there that the seeds to Rebelution's future would be planted.

Throughout 2004-05, Rebelution began to build momentum through consistently playing local shows and by independently releasing an EP. Before they knew it, they were one of the biggest drawing bands, not just in the reggae genre, but in the entire area. They released their first full-length album "Courage To Grow" in June 2007, which got positive response from fans and critics alike. Rebelution quickly became known for sticking strongly to the roots of vintage reggae sound, all while appealing not only to reggae listeners, but also to music fans of all genres.

Now, two years since their last album appeared on the market, Rebelution puts out their sophomore full-length album "Bright Side Of Life" on their newly founded record label 87 Music, in association with Controlled Substance Sound Labs, the California based music collective, which is also home to artists Slightly Stoopid and Pepper, and their respective artist imprints.

This album is our first acquaintance with Rebelution and most likely our last because after having given to this 12 track album quite a few spins, we have come to the conclusion that we're not overly impressed by the musical works of Rebelution. The more you play it, the more you get bored and that's not a good sign at all. We can imagine this band's rocks and gives you a real good time when they do a live gig, but on record it's something else. Lyrically it's O.K., but overall singer Eric Rachmany has such an avarage vocal delivery that he simply doesn't manage to keep you involved till the very end. Even though the album disappoints as a whole, there are a couple of decent songs that more or less can be pointed out as worth hearing. These include "More Than Ever", "Suffering" and "Wake Up Call".