Reggae Music Again
Busy Signal
VP Records
April 27, 2012

REGGAE Music Again - Busy Signal Track list
  1. Busy Thoughts Positive Music (Skit)
  2. Run Weh
  3. Modern Day Slavery
  4. Reggae Music Again
  5. Come Over (Missing You)
  6. Royal Night
  7. Kingston Town
  8. 119 feat. Anthony Red Rose & Joe Lick Shot
  9. Fire Ball
  10. Wicked Man
  11. Running From The Law feat. Romain Virgo & Esco Levi
  12. Busy Thoughts Music From The Heart (Skit)
  13. Jah Love
  14. Part Of Life
  15. Sweetest Life
  16. Comfort Zone (Accoustic Remix)
  17. Busy Thoughts My Intention (Skit)
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 27-
Very Good -Votes: 12-
Good -Votes: 10-
Average -Votes: 3-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 7-

Total votes : 59
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Busy Signal's hyped and thus much anticipated fourth full length album entitled "Reggae Music Again" (the follow up to "Step Out", "Loaded" and "D.O.B.") already got rave reviews from reggae connoisseurs and fans alike, even before it was officially released. So it's obvious our expectations were raised to the max when the cd finally reached us.

Although Busy Signal (real name Reanno Gordon) has established himself as a dancehall artist, who delivers hardcore lyrics over hard hitting dancehall throbs, he now and then came up with solid modern reggae pieces including "Trading Places", "World Wide Love", ballad-like renditions of Phil Collins' "One More Night" and The Commodores' "Night Shift", the wonderful combination tune with Marcia Griffiths on a revamped version of Studio One's classic "Automatic" riddim called "Love Is Automatic", and the criminally overlooked "Run Dem Weh", done in combination with Morgan Heritage on Juke Boxx's "Statement" riddim. These kinda tunes not only showcased that Busy Signal is equally at home with dancehall and reggae music, but also indicated that he might take the reggae road one day. And that's exactly what happened, resulting in the release of this "Reggae Music Again" album. However don't expect him to leave dancehall business behind, because that won't be the case as it's also part of Jamaica's culture.

But now reggae music is the order of the day, and after having played "Reggae Music Again" only once we already concluded that this isn't bad at all. In fact it's a great collection of tunes with a variety of styles that fully fit in the tradition of reggae music. Busy Signal, whose vocal delivery can be passionate but also can have a rawer edge, easily moves from roots tune to love song, and everything in between. Already known tunes from this album such as the title track "Reggae Music Again", the hit song "Come Over (Missing You") and, although in a different version, the Donovan Germain produced "Comfort Zone" on Penthouse's "Big Stage" riddim, not only gave a good foretaste of what the new album would sound like, but they also made a serious impression.

An important role in creating the original reggae sound that is omnipresent on this album has been played by Juke Boxx's Shane C. Brown and his father Errol Brown (involved as mixing engineer in many classic recordings from Treasure Isle, Bob Marley, Burning Spear and Third World). Both did most of the mixing work at Tuff Sound, Juke Boxx and Birchill studios, and the final result is simply great. From start to finish this collection fully lives up to the high expectations. All tracks are first-class and are a real joy to listen to over and over again. Paying respect to the reggae veterans, he borrows a classic riddim on "Wicked Man", which draws on Junior Byles' "Beat Down Babylon", while "119" can be seen as a tribute to the dancehall days of the mid-80s, when artists like Sugar Minott, Nitty Gritty, Tenor Saw, and, yes indeed, Anthony Red Rose ruled the dance. Do check the excellent "Modern Day Slavery", which is inspired by speeches from Martin Luther King, the matching "Run Weh", and the dark sounding "Kingston Town", but don't forget give the other tracks a spin, because they all have their own merit.

"Reggae Music Again" affirms Busy Signal's status as one of the greatest talents to emerge from Jamaica in recent times.