Creation Rebel
Burning Spear
November 23 - 2004

Track list
  1. Door Peeper (Original Single Mix)
  2. This Race (Rare Stereo Mix. Previously unreleased on CD)
  3. This Population (Previously unreleased on CD)
  4. Bad To Worst (Rare Stereo Mix. Previously unreleased on CD)
  5. New Civilization
  6. Pick Up The Pieces
  7. Zion Higher (Rare Stereo Mix. Previously unreleased on CD)
  8. Swell Headed
  9. Foggy Road
  10. Creation Rebel
  11. Ethiopians Live Out
  12. Rocking Time (Rare Stereo Mix. Previously unreleased on CD)
  13. Get Ready
  14. What A Happy Day (Rare Stereo Mix. Previously unreleased on CD)
  15. Call On You (Rare Stereo Mix. Previously unreleased on CD)
  16. Free (aka We Are Free)
  17. Down By The River (aka Down By The Riverside)
  18. Weeping And Wailing (Rare Stereo Mix. Previously unreleased on CD)
  19. He Prayed
  20. Rocking Time (Original single release featuring Clement Dodd)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 4/5
Hot on the heels of the Soul Jazz Records collection of Burning Spear's classic Studio One material comes this Heartbeat release entitled "Creation Rebel", which features just about the same tracks. It's great - if not essential - raw and undiluted reggae from Winston Rodney aka Burning Spear, now made available in digital clarity (with the Heartbeat release providing the slightly better sound quality). The Heartbeat set also draws from the legendary albums "Studio One Presents Burning Spear" and "Rocking Time", but left out are tracks such as "Fire Down Below", "Don't Mess With Jill", "Journey", "Them A Come", "Girls Like You", "Old Time Saying", "Walla Walla" and "Mamie". Why these tunes aren't featured here is remarkable, because there's enough room on the cd to have them included as well. On the other hand we're treated to three tracks that weren't featured on the original albums... "This Population, "Zion Higher", "New Civilization" and a version of "Rocking Time" that features Clement Dodd, all of them released at that time as 7" singles. Unfortunately the bonus tracks featured on the 2 LP gatefold vinyl set - "He Prayed / Joe Frazier (Part 2)" with Dennis Alcapone and "Rocking Time / Pepper Rock" with Prince Jazzbo - are not included on cd. An astonishing and hard to understand release policy of the Heartbeat label, particularly as the total playing time of the cd is only 56:29! It's obvious that the quality of the tunes featured here is without question. However, the simultaneous release of virtual duplicates isn't exactly what music fans and avid Studio One addicts are waiting for. To them it would have made more sense when either Soul Jazz Records or Heartbeat had come up with great Studio One music yet unreleased on cd.