Buju & Friends
Buju Banton
VP Records-Walboomers Music
2 CD
November 6, 2004

Track list
Disc 1
  1. Bonafide Love featuring Wayne Wonder
  2. Who Say featuring Beres Hammond
  3. Little More Time featuring Beres Hammond
  4. Wicked Dickie Feat Nadine Sutherland
  5. Hotness featuring Heavy D.
  6. Love Dem Bad featuring Red Rat
  7. Teaser featuring Bounty Killer
  8. Get It On featuring Wayne Wonder
  9. What I'm Gonna Do featuring Nadine Sutherland
  10. I Do featuring Fundisha
  11. We Set the Principal featuring Beenie Man
  12. Ring The Alarm featuring Tenor Saw
  13. Watch How You Flex featuring Ed Robinson
  14. A So featuring Tony Rebel
  15. Weary featuring Culture
  16. Hang On featuring Gregory Isaacs
  17. I Dare Not Be Ungrateful featuring Leroy Sibbles
  18. 54-46 featuring Toots Hibbert
Disc 2
  1. 23rd Psalm featuring Morgan Heritage
  2. Massa God World featuring Wayne Wonder
  3. Complaint featuring Garnet Silk
  4. Give I Strength featuring Ras Shiloh
  5. We Will Be Alright featuring Luciano
  6. Mother's Cry featuring Jah Mali
  7. Sound In the Air featuring LMS
  8. Can You Play Some More featuring Beres Hammond
  9. My Woman Now featuring Beres Hammond
  10. Childish Games featuring Marcia Griffiths
  11. Closer featuring Marcia Griffiths
  12. Poor Old Man featuring Stephen Marley
  13. Want It featuring Twiggy
  14. Make My Day featuring Brian & Tony Gold
  15. Commitment featuring Wayne Wonder
  16. No More Misty Days featuring Rancid
  17. Tribal War featuring Brian & Tony Gold, Tony Rebel, Terry Ganzie
  18. Good Times featuring Fat Joe & Beres Hammond
  19. All Will Be Fine featuring Sons And Daughters Choir
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
The double CD "Buju Banton & Friends" gathers 37 tracks 'inna combination stylee'. The phenomenon of the combination tune, the pairing of the dancehall deejay voice with a singer thus creating a third element, goes back to reggae's beginnings and is still a favorite of dancehall fans. Having burst onto the scene in the early '90s amidst a flash of controversy (accusations of homophobia, criticism for singing about a preference for lighter skinned black women) Buju, the once cheeky and flamboyant king of the dancehall movement, turned into a reflective and socially conscious artist in the mid '90s. Buju Banton's trademark gravel pit tone is synonymous with dancehall and his distinctive lyrics have been the foundation for countless hits in dancehall reggae. Presented here are many well known combinations with a host of top artists, but also included are rarities, hard to find club bangers and two previously unreleased songs on cd, namely "Weary" with Joseph Hill (aka Culture) and "Hang On" with Gregory Isaacs. Even though this compilation lacks awesome tunes like "What Ya Gonna Do" with Wayne Wonder or "Pull It Up" and "Nuh Shot Nah Bus", both with Beres Hammond, there's enough to enjoy as there are a notable amount of great tunes included here. Personal favorites are "Bonafide Love", "Ring The Alarm", "Hang On", "23rd Psalm", "Complaint", "We Will Be Alright", "My Woman Now", "Childish Games" and "Commitment". The majority of the tracks are produced by Donovan Germain of Penthouse Records, while the remaining tunes feature the production works of Steely & Clevie, Dave Kelly, Dangazone Productions, Winston Riley, and Mark Myrie aka Buju Banton himself.