Ready For The World
Bunny Brown
Studio One
March 1, 2004

Track list
  1. Smiling Faces
  2. Trouble Trouble
  3. You Can Do It
  4. Into The Night
  5. Storybook Children
  6. Oh! What A Shame
  7. Woman
  8. Cheaters
  9. Good Times Or Bad
  10. Weh Yuh Deh Suh Long
  11. Break Your Promise
  12. Can We Talk
  13. You
  14. Caribbean Girl
  15. So Good To Me
  16. If I Were A Carpenter
  17. Ready For The World
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 2/3
One of the recent CD releases from Coxsone Dodd's legendary Studio One stable is Bunny Brown's "Ready For The World". Bunny is Joel Brown, lead singer of well known Jamaican vocal group Chosen Few who recorded extensively with Derrick 'Musical Chariot' Harriot of 'One Stop' and 'Crystal' Records fame. And here Bunny under the guidance of Coxsone Dodd delivers a near perfect album. A lot of relicks of classic Studio One riddims, but done with great devotion it seems. Whether the first tune "Smiling Faces" over the classic Heptones' 'Sea Of Love'-riddim or just two tunes further into the album their often versioned 'Party Time'-riddim used for "You Can Do It", every tune sounds fresh and crisp, and in between Bunny Brown rides the famous Carlton & The Shoes' 'Love Me Forever'-riddim for the excellent "Trouble Trouble". On the Bardones/Tipper written "Into The Night" he is backed on vocals by Pam Hall, which seems almost like nothing but a prelude to the wicked duetted version Bunny does with songstress Pam on "Storybook Children". And it keeps on raining classic riddims, like "Oh! What A Shame" a heartfelt accusation over the classic Alton Ellis 'Breaking Up"-riddim, followed by the brilliant "Woman" over Cornell Campbell & The Eternals' 'Stars'-riddim. It's one gem after another, as the soulful ballad sung as a duet with Pam Hall again "Cheaters" sung over the riddim used for Bob Marley & the Wailers' "It Hurts To Be Alone. More nice balladeering in "Good Times Or Bad", and "Weh Yuh Deh Suh Long" is a magnificent song over the riddim of an overlooked tune by an overlooked artist (I mean it, the man should get much more attention and respect than he receives): Bunny Wailer's "Amagideon". "Break Your Promise" is a magnificent doo-wop tune, followed by "Can We Talk", a superb duet with Luciano on the Ethiopians' 'No Baptism'-riddim. Listen to the lyrics of the tribute to the woman loved "You" and the heartfelt singing of the lyrics, the tribute to all "Caribbean Girl"s and the equally impressive "So Good To Me". The Tim Harden song that has been done by great Jamaican singers like Owen Gray, John Holt, the Tamlins and Ernest Wilson before, the immortal "If I Were A Carpenter" gets a fine treatment as well. The whole album can be described by the last (and title) song because Joel 'Bunny' Brown shows with this excellent set he is "Ready For The World".