Live At The Opera House
Nocturne-Walboomers Records
March 22 - 2003

Track list
  1. Nyahman Chant
  2. Worries And Problem
  3. Works To Do
  4. Grow Yuh Natty
  5. Give Jah De Praise
  6. Hard Times
  7. Sunshine
  8. She Is Gone
  9. Remember De Days
  10. Man A Lion
  11. Life
  12. Cannabis
  13. I Burn
  14. Fire Burn
  15. Truly Great
  16. Medley : It's So Easy, What's The Matter With The World, Who Send Them
  17. Terrible
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4
Dwight Duncan aka Bushman, is an artist carved out of the same musical tradition as Bob Marley, Dennis Brown and Luciano, who he quotes as being one of his dominant influences. Hailing from the small rural district Prospect Beach in the parish of St Thomas, Bushman was raised as a Rastafarian. Moving into his teens and now known as Junior Melody, he kicked off his career proper as a selector (selecting the records played on a sound system) on the Black Star Line sound system. In Kingston he happened to meet top Jamaican producers Steely and Clevie at Arrows Dubplate Studio during an impromptu game of football. Steely immediately invited him to audition for his studio, Studio 2000. Their first song together was Grow Your Natty, a remarkable debut, which was swiftly followed by "Call the Hearse". The album "Nyah man Chant" followed and "Total Commitment" for veteran producer King Jammy was his second album to hit the streets with considerable success. Out of the UK came "A Better Place" This third album saw its initial release on the Artists Only! label in the year 2000, but for whatever reason was withdrawn shortly after and reissued in 2002.
The album "Live At The Opera House", which was recorded in Toronto, Canada in 2002, is a decent registration of his performance that night. Bushman sings praises of Rastafari, chants down Babylon and exalts the healing power of marijuana during his performance. A tight playing Grass Roots Band kicks out the riddims for Bushman who powerfully delivers great songs including the title track of his 1997 debut album Nyah Man Chant, Worries And Problems, Grow Yuh Natty and Man A Lion. One of the highlights here is Cannabis and the same goes for the medley It's So Easy, What's The Matter With The World, Who Send Them, but the best tune here is Fire Burn better known as "Fire Pon A Deadas". The song is presented here as kind of medley, incorporating some fine classic tunes such as 'You Bring Me Joy', 'Mr.Landlord' and 'Hypocrites'.
A nice live set !