10 Ft. Ganja Plant
June 7, 2009

10 Ft. Ganja Plant Track list
  1. Machete Strike
  2. Soon Come
  3. Too Much Gun A Bust
  4. Cool And Collect
  5. 10 Ft. Ganja Plant And Weed
  6. Bush Rock
  7. Head Shrinker
  8. Wailin'
  9. Set Me Free
  10. Got To Be A Soldier
  11. The Cyclops
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 33-
Very Good -Votes: 6-
Good -Votes: 4-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 1-

Total votes : 44
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5
10 Ft. Ganja Plant is a roots/dub Reggae group primarily based in upstate New York that is a spinoff collective of the popular group John Brown's Body, and is spearheaded by former JBB dub engineer Craig Welsch. The group lineup does not consist of the entire JBB lineup, but more so implements a jamband feel and often employing the assistance of many special guest artists.

One of the main keys to 10 Ft. Ganja Plant's legacy is their consistent shroud of mystery, considering that, for the most part, fans are baffled as to whom the unfamiliar guest artists are in particular as there are often no personnel credits featured on any of their albums. Their key vocalists, however, were Ras Jay Champay, former JBB lead singer Kevin Kinsella, and is protege Rob Bellnier (whose voice was virtually identical to Kinsella's). While their music today has a wide range of styles, most of their music often has a more traditional vintage '70s Jamaican sound to it.

10 Ft. Ganja Plant has released four albums to date: "Presents", "Hillside Airstrip", "Midnight Landing" and "Bass Chalice". In 2007, "Presents" was remastered and reissued by ROIR with two bonus tracks previously released strictly on 7" single (one from 2000 during the same sessions as "Presents" and one from 2003) on their homebase label, I-Town Records, founded by Kevin Kinsella.

The summer of 2009 brings us a new album , "Bush Rock", from the band that keeps their feet firmly rooted in a warm '70s roots vibe. The 11 track album (less than 40 minutes of music, also typical '70s!) holds four vocal tracks, featuring vocals by Kyle McDonald of Slightly Stoopid. Influences of the early '70s sound from The Wailers are clearly present in Too Much Gun A Bust which is a solid roots tune, while the slow paced love song Got To Be A Soldier has an extremely hypnotizing vibe, a 200% stand out track! 10 Ft. Ganja Plant And Weed is a powerful dubbed up tune, with an excellent minimized vocal performance by the vocalist. Wailin' reminds us of vocal groups such as The Meditations, Culture and Israel Vibration.

The rest of the tunes are heavy dubs, cool instrumentals and a rock influenced dub effort called The Cyclops. The album starts in fine style with the melodica driven instrumental Machete Strike. Cool and easy is our description of Soon Come, a sung with a nice flute arrangement. The title song is a good example of how dub should sound. We're sure that King Tubby would have appreciated this effort! There's more dub niceness here, check out Head Shrinker and Set Me Free, although the latter song is more an instrumental than a dub track.

"Bush Rock" comes as a pleasant reggae and dub surprise in these modern times. Excellent job from 10 Ft. Ganja Plant!