Call My Name
Nadine Sutherland
Eight76 Records
August 7, 2007

Track list
  1. It's My Day
  2. Big Tingz
  3. Just A Little Bit Longer
  4. Keep Me Safe
  5. Call My Name
  6. Remedy
  7. Wanna Be Here Tonight
  8. Running Away
  9. Can't Tek It feat. Christinti
  10. Another Day
  11. Fox Can't Get The Grape
  12. Come To Me
  13. How Long
  14. Where Did My Heart Go
  15. Why Do Doves Cry
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 4-
Very Good -Votes: 0-
Good -Votes: 1-
Average -Votes: 1-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 6
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 4 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Just like so many other women in the male dominated reggae dancehall world, Nadine Sutherland doesn't release singles and albums on a regular basis. This long-established figure made her stage debut at the age of nine as a winner of Jamaica’s popular Tastees Talent Contest, and went from being known as reggae’s 'Teen Queen' with hits like "Starvation" (no. 1 on the Jamaican charts in 1980) and "Until" to garnering international acclaim in the 1990s with dancehall anthems like the very catchy, Dave Kelly produced combination with Terror Fabulous "Action" (1993) and "Anything For You" (1995), another combination tune with Snow, Beenie Man, Buju Banton, Terror Fabulous, Louie Culture & Culture Knox. In 1997 (11 years after the release of her debut album "Until") she released her sophomore album entitled "Nadine", recorded under the watchful guidance of Xterminator producer Phillip "Fatis" Burrell, then one of the leading producers in Jamaica.

Now, a decade after the release of that well received and acclaimed second album and after several years away from the music scene, Nadine Sutherland delivers her third full-length album, "Call My Name", which is produced by Kenroy Archibald a.k.a. Yahbreeze of Eight76 Records. This well produced brand new set spans all types of Jamaican music, from rootsy one-drop to dervish-inducing dancehall cuts, thus reflecting Nadine's versatility. From beginning to end her performance is as good as one would expect. Not only is every tune delivered in a powerful and passionate way, but there's also no fall in quality throughout the entire album.

The lead-off single "Big Tingz", with a catchy chorus of "Big tingz a gwaan tonight... Everybody in a party vibe...", enjoyed hit success. Also "Keep Me Safe" and "Can't Tek It", the combination tune with Chrisinti, have been released on 7" single and have both reached the top 5 of the South Florida Reggae Charts. These two singles, and several other tracks including "It's My Day", "Remedy", Keep Running Away, "How Long", and "Where Did My Heart Go" across an updated version of a classic Studio One riddim make for compelling listening.

A truly welcome comeback of this fine female singer, one of the very few who is capable of voicing any style in reggae music.