Call On Jah
Rude Boy Records-Walboomers Music
December 12, 2004

Track list
  1. Don't Throw Your Lives Away
  2. See You In Zion
  3. Oh Father
  4. God Is Love
  5. Red Hot
  6. Why
  7. Call On Jah
  8. Jah Is Callin U
  9. Every One Is Asking
  10. Open Sasame
  11. My Papa
  12. Only A Fool
  13. I Love U Woman
  14. If U Know Jah
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
Just before the end of 2004 we're treated to a new album from Luciano, actually his third full length album of the year. This set draws from a variety of production houses and besides previously unreleased material on cd it contains a notable amount of tunes that were already featured on some of his earlier cd releases and various artists albums. Most notable is the inclusion of five tracks taken from the Jet Star release "Great Controversy", all of them featured under a different title. Thus you'll find familiar tracks like "Are You Ready?" ("Jah Is Calling U"), Good Papa ("My Papa"), Empress Love ("I Love U Woman"), Why? ("Every One Is Asking") and "Call On Yahweh" ("Call On Jah") on this cd. Also known from earlier releases are the awesome album opener "Don't Throw Away Your Lives" - aka "One In A Million", recorded with Adrian Sherwood & Style Scott's On-U-Sound family and featured on Dub Syndicate's cd "Acres Of Space" - and "Red Hot" ("King Jepther" on the Luciano/Sizzla cd "Jah Warrior"). Even though this collection of tunes isn't exactly what one would call brand new material, it's worthwhile checking as it contains many excellent efforts delivered in Luciano's well-known style. Besides the truly great tracks from the "Great Controversy" set, songs such as "Oh Father", "Why" and "If U Know Jah" (coming across the same riddim as Sizzla's "Solid As A Rock") are worth of hearing over and over again. A solid album from the Messenjah, probably welcomed with mixed feelings by his true fans as it includes too many tracks that are already part of their collection.