One Love Unity Network Volume 1
Colah Colah
Basco Production / Elevation Records
CD / Digital Release
May 4, 2014

Track list
  1. Intro feat. Algebra
  2. Great Men feat. Luciano
  3. The Blessing feat. Derrick Parker
  4. The More You Want From Life feat. Natty King
  5. Glory Hallilujah feat. Mikey General
  6. Put Your Trust In The Most High feat. Fantan Mojah
  7. Can't Stop These Songs feat. Terry Ganzie
  8. The Network feat. Courtney Melody
  9. Spin Spin Spin feat. Sir Ford
  10. Life Is A Cycle feat. Jah Lex
  11. International Herbs feat. Kenneth Culture
  12. Jah Jah Make Us All feat. Quench Aid
  13. The Bees feat. Adina Myrie
  14. Universal Struggle feat. Turbulence
  15. The Bees Instrumental Riddim One Drop Roots Band
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
After his last year released 'toe to toe' album with Turbulence called "Network & The Future", upcoming Jamaican singjay/deejay Colah Colah aka Network now comes up with an album that sees him collaborating with fellow Jamaican artists including mostly internationally well-known artists such as Luciano, Fantan Mojah, Mikey General, Natty King, and Turbulence. In terms of trying to attract wider attention not a bad move at all for an artist who is looking for more recognition outside his homeland. Besides that it's always good to listen to combination tunes as they usually add a little extra to one's listening pleasure.

After the spoken "Intro " by Algebra & Colah Colah, it's the Messenjah Luciano who joins Colah Colah on "Great Men", a solid cut on a remake of the riddim that underpinned Dennis Brown's 1978 released "To The Foundation". The same riddim track is used for "The Blessing" with fine singer Derrick Parker, a cut that makes an even better impression than its predecessor. Another revitalized classic riddim -- originally the Silvertones "Smile", but here in the version known from Garnet Silk's hit "Hello Mama Africa" -- is utilized for "The More You Want From Life" with Natty King, which is worth hearing. The next effort on this riddim is done in combination with Mikey General. The praising song "Glory Hallilujah" is a nice piece, but in the end isn't as good as "The More You Want From Life".

This collection is packed phat with remakes of classic riddims, and thus also the old skool dancehall backdrop for "Put Your Trust In The Most High", done with Fantan Mojah, will be instantly recognised by any self-respecting riddim spotter. This decent tune is followed by the lyrically somewhat disappointing "Can't Stop The Songs", delivered over an awesome stripped down version of the "Swing Easy" riddim. Although a slightly better tune, "The Network" with Courtney Melody also isn't a fully convincing effort. Much better are the next two tracks, over a new version of Lester Sterling & Sound Dimension's "African Beat" from Studio One. Best impression makes "Spin Spin Spin" with Sir Ford (Ninja Ford??), but also "Life Is A Cycle" with a contribution from rather unknown Jah Lex is worth listening to. "International Herb", on the same riddim as "Up And Running" from Colah Colah's previous album, is a nice new interpretation of Culture's 1979 hit song "The International Herb". Before the "Swing Easy" riddim returns on the last three tracks, of which "The Bees" and "Universal Struggle" are known from the "Network & The Future" set, it's "Jah Jah Makes Us All" with Quench Aid on the "Peanut Vendor/Taxi" riddim that caresses the eardrums.

Most likely this collaboration album will bring Colah Colah some international recognition, but we probably will have to wait until his next album release to find out if he can do it on his own. Hopefully that new set will also feature fresh original riddims, which will surely make it musically more interesting.