Bad Gyal
Kingstone - Groove Attack
June 20, 2008

Track list
  1. Worth It
  2. Gets My Man
  3. Goody
  4. Shake Your Ass
  5. Oh Yeah feat. Ziggi
  6. Hot Like That feat. Trina
  7. Without You
  8. Girlfriend
  9. How You Love Me
  10. I'm Waiting
  11. M-I-S-S-I-N-G
  12. Tonight feat. Bounty Killer & Lord Kossity
  13. Boyfriend
  14. Faking
  15. Talk Talk
  16. Hot Like We
  17. The Truth
    Bonus Track
  18. I'm Waiting RMX feat. Shaggy
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
And finally, alongside Rodney, the MC, booker and label-manager and in this case executive producer of the Cologne based Kingstone-soundsystem, here is CÚCile's debut album. Released September last year under the same title but with a different (only 15 tunes) tracklist exclusively in Japan on Avex Records, now Kingstone in collaboration with the Danger Zone camp to which CÚCile these days belongs have put out this excellent set. Opening it with the sexy "Worth It" across an infectious riddim by Kirk Bennett a.k.a. Kirkledove, followed by "Gets My Man" and the big hittune for her "Goody" across the 'Wipe Out'-riddim, built on a guitar riff from the Surfaris' 1962 hit produced by Albert 'Jigsy' Hamilton & Roderick 'Penny Bling' Hamilton for Danger Zone, followed by the great "Shake Your Ass" across Kingstone's hard hitting bashment hit riddim 'Se˝orita', produced by Ben 'Benni Blanco' Bazzazian and the hit-destined combination "Oh Yeah" with Holland's own Ziggi.

This is in fact of course instead of a normal debut album much more of a greatest hits album with a couple of new tunes on it, but since CÚCile has been scoring her fair amount of hits, that is no problem at all and the next tune she delivers is her "Hot Like That" across LeftSide & Esco's brilliant retro-riddim 'Throwback Giggy' from 2005, copping Little Lenny's "Gun Inna Baggy" flow brilliantly and US female rapster Trina adding (an unnecessary) verse, followed by the excellent "Without You" and "How You Love Me" showing how brilliantly her delivery is over modern roots riddims and R&B-ish riddims is as well. CÚCile also excels in her take on Prince' (yes, that is TAFKAP) "If I Was Your Girlfriend" across 357 Records' 'Adam And Eve'-riddim, Mario C Campbell's strong one-drop riddim and the wonderful "I'm Waiting" over Danger Zone's 'Jam Down'-riddim (unfortunately her great tune "Jamdown" giving the riddim its name wasn't included on VP Records' Riddim Driven album and here neither). More smooth vibes follow in the sensual lovers tune "M-I-S-S-I-N-G" before she rides a relick by Sly & Robbie & Stephen 'Lenky' Marsden of Keith & Tex' Derrick Harriot produced "Tonight" providing the chorus alongside Bounty Killer & France's Lord Kossity deejaying the verses.

Girl you should a see me and your "Boyfriend" is a very entertaining tune warning the girls before CÚCile warns that if he isn't doing it right she will be "Only Faking" over South Rakkas Crew's 'Chinkuzi'-riddim and another warning "Talk Talk" to the ladies not to brag too much about how good their man is in bed over Reggae Republic's cheap eurodance trance inspired but highly infectious 'Inevitable'-riddim produced by long time CÚcile associate Cordel 'Skatta' Burrell alongside Peter Harrison. "Hot Like We" is another scorcher produced by the South Rakkas Crew, this time across one of their first riddims 'Red Alert' before the strange, very intriguing "The Truth", with the irresistable odd-voiced 'Who The Cap Fits' hookline is the very strong last official tune on the album, that is closed by a very nice "I'm Waiting RMX" featuring Shaggy transforming the one drop 'Jam Down'-riddim into a very fine bouncing dancehall backing. The only drawback is that some of the tunes are more than a couple of years old, but nevertheless this is the album showing that CÚCile is a great singjay and songstress and hopefully finally getting her the attention she deserves as a roots and dancehall artiste as well.