Goody (EP)
Downbeat - Warner
June 13, 2008

Track list
  1. Goody
  2. Rude Bwoy Thug Life
  3. Jamdown
  4. Oooh!
  5. Boops
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
Three versions have been released of CéCile's debut album. Released September 2007 as "Bad Gyal" but with a different (also only 15 tunes) tracklist exclusively in Japan on Avex Records, then Cologne based German soundsystem and label Kingstone in collaboration with the Danger Zone camp - to which CéCile these days belongs - put out the excellent "Bad Gyal" album. And then a different version of the album called "Waiting" was released by CéCile's own camp, Delmar 'Della Danger' Drummond's Dangerzone a.k.a. Danger Zone Camp in association with SoBe Entertainment.

However, I've been nagging about all three albums ánd the 'Jamdown'-Riddim Driven album for lacking one specific tune, but this EP makes up for it. The EP kicks off with her big hittune "Goody" across the 'Wipe Out'-riddim, built on a guitar riff from the Surfaris' 1962 hit, relicked here by Daseca's Harrisingh brothers together with Craig 'Serani' Marsh for CéCile's own Danger Zone production of the tune (originally recorded for Danger Zone Sound's Roderick 'Penny Bling' Hamilton and Albert 'Jigsy' Forbes alongside Serani), followed by the 2002 oldie "Rude Bwoy Thug Life" across Germaican Records' wonderful 'Cure'-riddim, based around a sample of The Cure's "Close To You" by Tom (the other) Topp that still works.

And then finally her tune that gave Dangerzone's 'Jamdown'-riddim its name is included on this EP. This is despite excellent tunes across the riddim the absolute hightest ranking piece on the riddim. CéCile's lyrics and flow are so immaculate on this riddim, noone reaches her heights. Even if you'd buy the EP for this tune alone, spending 5 euros would be justified ... Two more big (and as far as I know exclusive to this EP) tunes are included, the very nice tongue-in-cheek "Oooh!" over a wonderful oriental-influenced riddim laid by Black Chiney's Dwayne 'Supa Dups' Chin-Quee and produced by London's Rich Drury and CéCile's answer version to Supercat's seminal "Boops" with a relick-riddim by Kirk Bennett, Jazique & Owen Rennals for Peter 'Shady' Harrison. An essential EP with 3 great exclusive tunes you definitely want in your collection.