Inna De Yard
Cedric Myton
Inna De Yard / Makasound
November 5, 2005

Track list
  1. Romeo And Julliet
  2. Congo Ashanti
  3. Children Crying
  4. Form A Gang
  5. Open Up The Gate Of Zion
  6. Yoyo
  7. Wisdom by special guest Musical Foul
  8. Forever Young
  9. Cock Mouth
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 3 Sound quality : 3 Sleeve : 3
The excellent re-issue label Makasound have worked on this "Inna DeYard" side project for a couple of years now, and the results have been praiseworthy -- though somewhat patchy at points -- the end results (sound, engineering and production wise) come accross as rushed, and under produced.

One can't listen to these great great artists without wishing the mixes had been taken into the studio to have their rough edges worked on, to render them truly beautiful, fully numinous-- as they so certainly potentially are.

These albums could have been Chinna and Cedric Myton's "Miracle" -- they arenít -- and that is a shame. These epochal singers and players and masters of their craft deserve it.

Still -- that is not intended in any way to criticise this fine project -- because for Chinna, Kiddus I, Linval Thompson and Cedric Myton followers, these albums provide an excellent insight into the spirituality and motivation at the heart of the artists.

The DVD's too, are always commendable, and the interviews provide in depth understanding of the singers and players.

This album is probably the best of the series so far -- showcasing Cedric Myton, poet and seer -- and he still sings beautifully.

Chinna beats out his Ali Farka Toure/John Lee Hooker raw percussive guitar style to powerful effect throughout, and is joined by some ex Skatalites (Johnny Dizzy Moore and Lesley Samuels) and Winston Macanuff.

"Children Crying" is by far the best track here, and is indispensable for those moved by the original. This transfiguring version is beautiful in its raw simplicity.

This album is not perfect -- but at its best, it is a compelling and moving work, and is unreservedly recommended.

Now we can only hope that polished studio mixes of these fine tunes may emerge some time in the future -- Now THAT would be truly worth waiting for -- the talent, depth of knowledge and experience expressed by the singers and players here is far, far superior to a great percentage of current releases on the market.