Katt's Productions
January 29, 2002

Track list
  1. Chant
  2. World is Troubled
  3. Wrong Man
  4. Can't Take It
  5. Mamma
  6. Universal Love
  7. Natty
  8. Wage Increase
  9. Bawling
  10. Rum Tree
  11. Lucifer's Powder
  12. Rude Boy
  13. Wrong Man (Reggae & Blues Mix)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
At a tender age Katt (A. "Delroy" Burton) began singing around Kingston, Jamaica, where he was born and raised. He received the nickname Katt for his cat green eyes and his powerful voice like a lions roar. Katt was soon discovered by known producers such as Phillip "Fattis" Burrell (X-terminator Label) Danny Brownie (Main Street Label) Lincoln "Style" Scott (Roots Radics Band) and many more. Although Katt had the talent and few songs were released, his career was at a stand still. Needing to survive and feed his family, Katt moved to Ocho Rios (a tourist resort town on Jamaica's famous North Coast) and began singing on the hotel circuit. This move proved financial and musically beneficial for Katt. He quickly became known as one of the best artistes on the North Coast. In the years to follow Katt did some recordings and formed a small company "Katt's Production". Katt has also made another bold step by cutting away from the hotel circuit and joining forces with a newly formed band, in Jamaica known as the "Progression Posse" (formerly known as The Progression Band). The band is comprised of some of Ocho Rios' top musicians. Together Katt and Progression Posse has made T.V. appearances and has been performing at various shows throughout Jamaica such as The Bob Marley Birthday Bash at Culture Yard, in Trench Town- Kingston Jamaica, The All Spice Show, in Clarendon, Jamaica produced and promoted by Richie Spice, and The 2001 Jamaica Federation Of Musicians Awards, just to name a few. In the year 2000 Katt recorded the album "Chant".
The album sees Katt in fine form as his smooth powerful voice rides the riddims seemingly effortless. The title tracks is a rightful tribute to the elder statesmen of reggae music, Bob Marley, Peter Tosh and Dennis Brown. Track 2 is an excellent cover of Dennis' World Is Troubled. Next comes a fine song Wrong Man in which he directs the 'sisters' in their quest to find the true love. Can't Take It and Wage Increase are entertaining solid tracks, but the one that shouldn't be overlooked is the awesome tune entitled Rum Tree in which he shows you the flaws in the alcoholic concoction. From our point of view the killer tune on the album is the anti-drugs song Lucifer's Powder. Producer Norman King has done a good job as he brings out the best in this artist's deliveries.
The album "Chant" is an highly recommendable album from a artist which should not be overlooked !