Chant Rastafari
Ras I
Ras I Music
17 - 11 - 2000

Track list
  1. Exploitation
  2. Dub
  3. Tell Me More
  4. Version
  5. Bad Boys
  6. Bad Dub
  7. Cease Fire
  8. Fire Dub
  9. Jah Please Help Me
  10. Dub
  11. Victim Of Circumstances
  12. Version
  13. Reggae Music
  14. Musical Dub
  15. Youthman
  16. Version
  17. Chant Rastafari
  18. Dub
  19. Messenger Of Jah
  20. Jah Dub
  21. Give Thanks And Praise
  22. Version
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Veteran Jamaican singer, poet, songwriter and bongo drummer Ras I hails from Waterworks, Westmoreland, Jamaica where he started singing when he was a schoolboy. As a musician he toured the Island and after going to London he formed the original 'Drums Of Rastafari', a band consisting of about 25 drummers, singing lead vocals and playing lead repeater drum. He has worked with a variety of well known reggae artists such as I Jahman Levi, Horace Andy, Earl 16, Leroy Smart and Jah Shaka. Ras I is committed to creating a global response to roots reggae music. In 1994 he was introduced to the North London studio Conscious Sounds and The Bush Chemists. This link-up resulted in this album featuring eleven tracks of roots and culture plus their dubs/versions (mixed by Dougie) in the well known Brimstone and Fire Conscious Sounds style.
The eleven vocal tracks found here are pure roots tunes and Ras I has a powerful voice that matches the typical Conscious Sounds style very well. The deep roots riddims (all original) are fine examples of contemporary UK roots music. Standout tracks featured here are Exploitation, Bad Boys, Jah Please Help Me, Youthman and Messenger Of Jah.
So if you're looking for roots/reggae music without compromises be sure to check out this album !