Check It!
RAS Records-Munich
02 - 06 - 2001

Track list
  1. Intro
  2. Check It
  3. De System
  4. Everytime A Ear De Soun'
  5. Witeman Country
  6. Whey Mi Belong?
  7. Say
  8. Angola Invasion
  9. Hard Time Loving
  10. Butta Pan Kulcha
  11. Sit Dung Pon De Wall
  12. Naw Give Up
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Ras Records have re-issued Mutabaruka's debut album from 1983 entitled "Check It!". Produced by Earl "Chinna" Smith and Mutabaruka, "Check It!" was originally released on the Jamaican "High Times" label and the US based "Alligator Records". Only available on CD for a limited time and thus not around for close to seven years, this classic set is on the streets again, now digitally remastered and with the original album art.
Mutabaruka (real name Allan Hope) was born in Rae Town, Kingston JA on 26th December, 1952. Mutabaruka (a Rwadan term for "one who is always victorious") was the first well-publicized voice in the new wave of poets growing since the early seventies. Before he made his entrance in music business Mutabaruka's early work regularly appeared in the monthly "Swing" magazine, and also several volumes of poetry were published. In the early eighties Mutabaruka teamed up with guitarist, producer and label owner Earl "Chinna" Smith, which then led to the release of the dub poet's debut set "Check It". It shows Mutabaruka in fine form, railing against oppression on all fronts in his inimitable style, aided and abetted by Earl "Chinna" Smith's genuinely rootsy backdrops. Standout tunes are "Witeman Country", "Angola Invasion", "Butta Pan Kulcha", "Naw Give Up" and the hit single "Everytime A Ear De Soun'". This inspired and impassioned sounding twelve track album - musically and lyrically spoken - proved a genre classic. Definitely well worth spinning almost two decades after its initial release, so "Check It!"