Hop & Drop
DHF Records-Groove Attack
September 29, 2005

Track list
  1. Groove Inspector
  2. Sitzplan
  3. Example
  4. Unter Diesen Umständen
  5. Hop & Drop
  6. Sofa
  7. Madras
  8. Tear Dem
  9. Use Your Brain
  10. Gunfire
  11. So
  12. Musik Meiner Kultur
  13. Good Things
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
The Austrian reggae band CheeseVibes have already been featured on 3 out of 4 "Dancehall Fieber" compilations from Austria's DHF Records and now their full length debut album "Hop & Drop" is also released on DHF Records. They impressed with "Liebe Ist" on "Dancehallfieber 02", "Sag An" on "Dancehallfieber 03" and "Babylon Sag Mir Wo" on "Dancehallfieber 04" and now come up with 13 brandnew tracks. Opening with the very catchy bilingual (German and English) "Groove Inspector" and "Sitzplan" where the riddim and hook seem losely based on Peter Tosh' "Johnny B. Goode" this band around frontmen (and brothers) Tombo & Peter 'Biggatree' Gartmayr (beachvolleyball professional who played at the Olympics in Athens) delivers danceable heavy bass driven riddims with real horns and good lyrics. "Example" is a ska-ish tune with serious comments about the racist attitude in their homecountry Austria, and more social criticism in "Unter Diesen Umständen" before CheeseVibes perform their version of the seminal Studio One riddim 'Real Rock' for "Hop & Drop" a good mood advertising and the funny "Sofa". The poppish "Madras Wedding Market" is with its great female vocals by Angel as strong and so is the anti-war song "Tear Dem" lyrically, but not musically, where the one drop lacks the urge of other tunes on this album. The anti-politics tune "Use Your Brain" and the very much by rock-guitar dominated "Gunfire" are fine tunes but also lack the conviction of the earlier tunes. But then the wonderful phantasy-story "So" completely makes up for that, a spoken-sung story with nonsense lyrics, but funny, and over a nice slow horn driven backing followed by the very nice partytune "Musik Meiner Kultur" about being white and non-rasta and making reggae. The last tune on this album is the upful roots tune "Good Things" and that is also the statement that can be adopted for this album. A convincing debut album from the Austrian CheeseVibes 11 years after the band was founded, with nice heavy bass based riddims, real horns an some good vocal harmonies and deejaying.