Most Wanted
Chukki Starr
March 3, 2010

Chukki Starr Track list
  1. The Almighty One
  2. Mark Of The Beast
  3. Sweet Meditation
  4. Forever Shall Praise
  5. Crazy Shooting
  6. Hard Fi Smile
  7. Praise The Creator
  8. Love & Peace
  9. How Me So Real
  10. Show Your Love
  11. Ghetto Youth's Livity
  12. Down In Da Ghetto
  13. Greatest Of Dem All
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 3-
Very Good -Votes: 6-
Good -Votes: 2-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 1-

Total votes : 12
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
Chukki Starr, real name Anthony Williams, started out as a deejay for the Echo Stones soundsystem in London's Stonebridge Community. In 1993/1994 he teamed up with Gussie P of London-based Fashion Records and began working for the Evilous sound system. He then went to Jamaica and recorded a couple of tunes for Bobby "Digital" Dixon and African Star and also voiced lots of specials for several Jamaican sounds. Back in London he teamed up with Saxon for whom he recorded "Unity", a combination track alongside Frankie Paul, and furthermore "Mark Of The Beast" and "Youth Dem Anthem". In 1998 renown UK producer Mad Professor unleashed Chukki Starr's debut album "Ghetto Youth's Livity" on his Ariwa label. Three years later, in 2001, the albums "Forever Shall Praise" (Bakchich Records) and "From Crime To Kodesh" (JetStar) were released, and again three years later, in 2004, his second album for Mad Professor's Ariwa label, "True Guidance", hit the streets. The release of his fifth album, "Can't Stop It", took place in 2005.

Some 15 years after Chukki Starr's first single was released, Greensleeves puts out a 13 track "Best of..." selection of one of UK's most talented -- and criminally under-recorded -- conscious reggae artists as part of their "Most Wanted" compilations series, which earlier featured Wailing Souls, Yellowman, Ranking Dread, Johnny Osbourne, Bushman and Eek-A-Mouse. The album opens with "The Almighty One", a solid track with nice horn parts from Urban Breeze taken from his debut set "Ghetto Youth's Livity". The title track of the latter, coming across a drum&bass flavoured riddim with a jazzy vibe, is also included here.

Chukki Starr recorded a few killer tunes for Saxon, which appeared on 12" vinyl and then on sometimes hard-to-get compilation albums. This "Most Wanted" set collects two of them, the 1998 killer "Mark Of The Beast" (a regular play for Jah Shaka) and the matching "Sweet Meditation" from 1999. From Arguably his best and most consistent album was "Forever Shall Praise", ironically a French release from a British reggae artist. No less than four tracks from that album are gathered here... "Forever Shall Praise" on a relick of Bob Marley's "So Much Trouble In The World" riddim, the outstanding "Praise The Creator", the dancehall fueled "How Me So Real", and the awesome "Show Your Love" on the "Tempo" riddim. His third album, "From Crime To Kodesh", mostly contained material produced in collaboration with Doctor Marshall and Mickey D. and recorded at Anchor Studios in Kingston JA. From that album comes "Love & Peace" and the self-produced "Down In Da Ghetto". The remaining three tracks of this compilation are tunes that were released as 7" singles. The excellent "Crazy Shooting" comes across an original Henry "Junjo" Lawes riddim, while "Hard Fi Smile" rides Frenchie's "World Jam" riddim. The album is rounded off by "Greatest Of Dem All" on Special Delivery Music's "Visions" riddim.

All in all this is a very good compilation of Chukki Starr tunes and hopefully this one sells in such a way that it leads to the release of an album with brand new material.