Wolverhampton In Dub
Capital Letters
Sugar Shack Records
CD / Digital Release
October 16, 2015

Track list
  1. Jah Music Dub
  2. Wolf Dub
  3. Roots Music Dub
  4. Opportunity Dub
  5. Wolverhampton Dub
  6. Dat Nah Stop Dub
  7. Thanks And Praise Dub
  8. Try Try Try Dub
  9. Tell Me What's Wrong Dub
  10. Movie Star Dub
  11. Pumping Dub
  12. Jamaica Dub
  13. False Natty Dub
  14. A Place On Earth Dub
  15. Jamaica (Alt Dubwise)
  16. False Natty (Alt Dubwise)
  17. Wolverhampton (Stripped down Oldwah)
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 0-
Very Good -Votes: 0-
Good -Votes: 1-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 1
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : - Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5
Earlier this year, Sugar Shack Records released Capital Letters' "Wolverhampton", which consisted of six brand new tracks plus eight newly mixed tracks from their 2011 digitally released album "Planet Earth". With "Wolverhampton", the band from the West Midlands, England, delivered a solid collection of tunes that got good reviews from the reggae connoisseurs as well aa positive reactions from fans of the band and reggae in general.

And now, about six months after the release of that album, the good people from Sugar Shack Records come up with its dub counterpart entitled "Wolverhampton In Dub". The first five dub versions are known from the B-side of the limited edition vinyl LP of "Wolverhampton", while the last three dubs expand the cd with alternate versions of previous tracks. Each and every dub piece gives a good impression of the superb musicianship from Capital Letters' band members and the mixing skills of Sugar Shack Records regular Dave 'Oldwah' Sandford, who was also responsible for the 2014 released dub counterpart of Talsman's "I-Surrection".

When it comes to dub music, it's the mixing engineer who overtakes the musicians and vocalists in musical creativity and ingenuity. And that's exactly what Dave 'Oldwah' Sandford has done as he - given free licence - worked his own magic to create new soundscapes. And thus it's the mixing engineer who is the artist, and not the band. The original tracks are now stripped down drum & bass with the secondary instruments and vocals being manipulated in a somewhat sophisticated way. No overly use of reverb, echoes or all kinds of crazy sound effects here, but done in such a way that it tells the listener that 'Oldwah' has a keen ear for things that work and don't work. Sure to arrest attentive ears are highlights like the beautiful opener "Jah Music Dub", the awesome "Wolf Dub" and the matching "Jamaica (Alt Dubwise)", but there's never a dull moment on this album.

You don't need to be a true dubhead to fully enjoy this dub version of Capital Letters' "Wolverhampton" album.