Carlton Livingston
Jah Life/Lighthouse Records
19 - 05 - 2002

Track list
  1. Here I Stand
  2. Marie
  3. Rumors
  4. Trodding
  5. Mr. D.J.
  6. Tricks
  7. 100 LB Collie Weed
  8. Soundman Clash
  9. Children
  10. Cold Winter
  11. Hot Summer
  12. Call Of The Rasta Man
  13. Confusion
  14. If You Were My Woman
  15. Love Was The Game
  16. She's Gone
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3
Carlton Livingston is one of those Jamaican artists who has never quite achieved the success he deserves. He was born in the parish of St. Mary, Jamaica. Carlton started singing in the mid seventies. He recorded his debut album 'Soweto' for Leon Symoie's Trillseekers label. The next set of recording was done for the legendary Studio One label, that results in underground hits like "Why", "Predictions", "Here I Stand" and a string of other recordings. 1979 saw him recording for Sly & Robbie's Taxi label, with Tricks and Trodding being the most succesful. Hot Summer was recorded for the Buisy label, but 1980 he enjoyed his biggest success with hits like Rumours and Marie recorded for Beswick Philips & Clive Jarret's Dynamite Records. With these hits Carlton was on his way as being recognized as one of Jamaica's Roots Dance Hall singer.
The LP 'Retrospect' is now being released as a compact disc and features a fine selection of tunes he recorded for several producers during the period 1975 to 1985. On the album you'll find his biggest hit Rumours, which is a reworking of Derrick Harriot's 'Solomon' riddim. The ganja anthems Trodding Through and 100 LB Collie Weed are also present here, just like his own rendition cut of the Studio One hit Here I Stand, which comes across the 'Fight It To The Top' riddim. One of his greatest lovers tunes, Marie, is also featured here. The dancehall flavored Soundman Clash is one of the highlights of the album. From 1975 comes the cultural tune Children. Furthermore two tunes across Dennis Brown's 'Sitting And Watching' riddim : Cold Winter and Hot Summer. The last three tunes on the album are solid lovers tunes.
'Restrospect' offers a well varied overview of Carlton Livingston's musical career.