Dub Feast
The Congos
Jamaican Recordings
April 22, 2012

The Congos Track list
  1. A Fat Dub
  2. A Party
  3. Gods Kingdom Dub
  4. Carry To The Well Dub
  5. Beng Come Down Dub
  6. Rasta Congo Dub
  7. Some A Dub
  8. Citizen Dub
  9. Watch & Pray Dub
  10. King Rastafari Dub
  11. Take It To Dub
  12. Heaven Dub
  13. Grandma Say Dub
  14. Start A New Dub
  15. Rasta Weh She Dub
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 4-
Very Good -Votes: 0-
Good -Votes: 1-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 5
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : - Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3
Mention The Congos to any reggae fan and, no doubt, he will instantly refer to their masterpiece "Heart Of The Congos", which they recorded with legendary producer Lee "Scratch" Perry, way back in 1977. Since the release of that incredible collection of tunes they have put out very few albums, most of them lacking the brilliance, the beauty and the quality of the debut set. Despite using the name The Congos these albums weren't recorded by the original trio Watty Burnett, Roydel Johnson (aka Congo Ashanti Roy) and Cedric Myton, but rather solo efforts from the latter.

The year 2006 saw the release of "Feast" (aka "Cock Mouth Kill Cock", a Jamaican proverb that essentially means: "watch what you say, it could be your undoing). The vocal album contained fruits of sessions conducted between Cedric Myton and vintage producer Bunny "Striker" Lee. It offered a fine selection of new songs voiced by Cedric "Congo" Myton over original recordings of classic reggae riddims from the seventies and early eighties, like Johnny Clarke's "Crazy Baldhead", "Satta Massa Ganna", the original "Stalag", Alton Ellis' "Breaking Up Is Hard To Do" and many more, which recalls the spirit captured by the "Heart Of The Congos" set.

Vocally Cedric Myton was joined by the late Brent Dowe (member of the Melodians) for a powerful set of harmonised vocal statements with a strong Rasta message. The line-up consists of the crème de la crème of reggae musicians that helped to create to magical reggae sounds of the 70s:
  • Bass: Robbie, Family Man Barrett, Lloyd Parks, George Fullwood, Bagga Walker
  • Drums: Santa Davis, Sly Dunbar
  • Guitar: Chinna Smith, Husk Brown
  • Horns: Deadly Headley, Tommy McCook, Vin Gordon, Bobby Ellis
  • Piano: Tarzan, Augustus Pablo, Winston Wright
  • Ogan: Winston Wright
  • Percussion: Zoot Scully Simms
Some 6 years later Jamaican Recordings unleashes the dub companion of the album. The track listing doesn't follow the original listing and one tune, Start A New Dub, has been added, it's a fine dub outing of the 'Moving Away' riddim. The subtle dub style mixing with very little effects, is done by Dub King and Nuton Williams, with some help of Bunny 'Striker' Lee. Most of the dubs start with a vocal part before the riddim takes over, and throughout the song vocal snippets can be heard, a typical mid 70s way of making dub versions. Most outstanding dub versions are A Fat Dub, the dub version of 'Fat Cook', that one being a remake of Don Carlos' 'Late Night Blues', a major reggae classic!. A Party, running across the 'Real Rock' riddim, makes a tough impression, while Carry To The Well Dub concentrates on the horns riff of the original cut 'Cockmouth'. Some A Dub ('Crazy Baldhead' riddim) is a successful dub reworking of 'Some A Thief'.

Nice addition to the vocal album, aimed at the vintage reggae lover.