Color Barrier
Leroy Brown
October 16, 2005

Leroy Brown - Color Barrier Track list
  1. What A Fire
  2. Color Barrier (Album Version)
  3. Don't Give Up
  4. Rulers Of Babylon
  5. Money Barrier (Skully Version)
  6. Stand Up Strong
  7. Mind How You Walk
  8. African Roots
  9. Time Of Decision
  10. Money Barrier (7" Horns Version)
  11. Gone Gone with Captain Charghand (12" Version)
  12. Metro Pigs
  13. Prayer Of Peace
  14. Color Barrier with Clint Eastwood (7" Horns Version)
  15. Money Barrier Dub
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5
Just when you thought the re-issue sources had dried up -- Makasound return with perhaps the best vocal re-issue since Pressure Sounds Kool Roots album and Blood and Fire's Chantells and Junior Byles sets.

This album requires no phoney hype -- This is a sensitive, beautiful work, from start to finish, with NO filler, no banal, token insincere lyrics, and no endlessly recycled heavy handed steppers and one drop rip offs.

Stand out track is the deeper Gnostic wisdom and insight of "Color Barrier" in which Brown sets out his vision of a world marked by spiritual and physical restriction. We are given no less than five cuts to the tune here -- "Money Barrier" is a version which goes deeper into the lyrical theme of material /mental restriction, with Brown expounding on how money borders and confines our lives with its illusory value system -- Powerful stuff, lyrically and musically, and the vast majority of today's current reggae output from Jamaica and Europe simply pales into insignifance in comparison.

So -- Just as some of us may be becoming increasingly cynical about the current reggae market -- Makasound come up with this wonderful re-issue.

This is indispensable -- one of the best releases of the last ten years, showing that Makasound are right up there with the quality and selection of Pressure Sounds and Blood and Fire.

It is simply astonishing that such works as Leroy Brown's could have gone unnoticed by the large majority of music fans worldwide for so, so long.

(Top marks must go to (label manager) Nicolas Makasound too, for trying to forward reggae music -- not by releasing cynical and clichéd so called modern steppers albums, not by reissuing 2nd rate supposed "lost gems" from the vaults, not by churning out cynical, shallow and crass one rhythm bashment albums apparently lacking in any quality control whatsoever -- but by forwarding reggae's agenda with care, originality and quality. Any right minded reggae fan will urge the success of ventures such as this.)