Coming At You
Stevie Face
ERC Records

Track list
  1. Something About You (featuring D'Bad Dawg)
  2. I'm In Love
  3. Sharing The Night
  4. All For You (featuring Cherine)
  5. Forgotten Children
  6. Mankind
  7. Teach The Children (featuring Junior Kelly)
  8. Flower In My Garden
  9. Show Some Love (featuring Bushman)
  10. For You I Will (featuring 2 Cool)
  11. If You Could See
  12. Breaking Up
  13. Rise Again (featuring Daddy Juice, Judah & Pinchy P)
  14. Bleaching (featuring D'Bad Dawg)
  15. Hurting
  16. Teach The Children (Remix)
  17. Oh Happy Day
  18. Thank You
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4
Stevie Face is an upcoming Jamaican artist whose vocal delivery is extremely suited to swoon ladies with lyrics that embodies matters of the heart. His lovers tune I'm In Love is currently in the Jamaican Top 10 for more then sixteen weeks running. Following up on his impressive recent opening performance for Luther Vandross and follow-up chart assault with his fitting remake of the standard Oh Happy Day, the stage has been set for his long awaited debut album "Coming At You".
The album opens very strong with the combination song Something About You on which he is accompanied by deejay D'Bad Dawg. Although he's a gifted and talented songwriter, he also knows to pick the right tunes to cover. One fine example is the Doctor Hook classic Sharing the Night which happens to be one of my favourite tracks of the album. He's not only a fine reggae artist, but he also tries to incorporate other musical genres into his music. His duet with Cherine -All For You - is an awesome R&B tune, just like the tune For You I Will on which he teams up with 2 Cool. From a lyrical point of view the ballad Forgotten Children could have been a Stevie Wonder tune, and the same goes for Mankind, which is an aching ballad dealing with the future of children in a world of war and violence. Junior Kelly makes his appearence on Teach The Children, another song dealing with the youths of today. One of the standout tracks is the reality tune Show Some Love, a tune done with Bushman. On Breaking Up he goes way back to the 60s, covering this classic Alton Ellis song. The energetic song Rise Again and Bleaching are two of the highlights of the album. The latter is also featured on the fabulous one riddim album "Millennium Taxi". The remix of Teach The Children is a failure, but the closing tune Thank You shows Stevie in fine form, delivering an excellent slow paced tune.
It's evident that this album is not for the dancehall fans, but we think it surely will touch the heart of many reggae fans, looking for soft and sweet reggae music.