The Complete Wailers 1967-1972 Part 2
Bob Marley & The Wailers
Triple CD

Track list
* indicates previously unreleased outside of Jamaica,
** indicates previously unreleased
All tracks original mixes, many of them appearing in stereo for the first time. No added production. For legal reasons "Soul Rebel (Alternate)", "Don't Rock My Boat (Alternate 1)", "Duppy Conqueror", "Duppy Conqueror Version 4", "Sun Is Shining" and "Small Axe" could not be included on this special triple edition CD.     Disc 1 : Soul Rebels 1970
  1. Try Me
  2. It's Allright
  3. No Sympathy (lead vocals Peter Tosh)
  4. My Cup also known as "I Have To Cry, Cry, Cry"
  5. Soul Almighty
  6. Rebel's Hop
    Medley: Keep On Moving - Cloud Nine - Rebel's Hop
  7. Corner Stone
  8. Four Hundred Years (lead vocals Peter Tosh)
  9. No Water
  10. Reaction

    Dub Tracks:

  11. My Sympathy "Four Hundred Years" Version
  12. Soul Rebel Version
  13. Try Me Version
  14. It's Allright Version
  15. No Sympathy Version
  16. My Cup Version
  17. Soul Almighty Version
  18. Rebel's Hop Version
  19. Corner Stone Version
  20. No Water Version (false start)
  21. No Water Version
  22. Reaction Version
  23. Rebel Version Also known as "Soul Rebel Version 2"
    Disc 2 : Soul Revolution Part 2 1970
  1. Keep On Moving Original also known as "I Gotta Keep On Moving"
  2. Put It On Alternate
  3. Fussing And Fighting
  4. Memphis
  5. Riding High (lead vocals Bunny Wailer)
  6. Kaya Original
  7. African Herbsman
  8. Stand Alone
  9. Brain Washing

    Dub Tracks:

  10. Keep On Moving Version
  11. Don't Rock My Boat Version
  12. Fussing And Fighting Version
  13. Put It On Version
  14. Duppy Version "Duppy Conqueror" Version
  15. Memphis Version
  16. Riding High Version
  17. Kaya Version 1
  18. African Herbsman Version
  19. Stand Alone Version
  20. Sun Is Shining Version
  21. Brain Washing Version
    Disc 3 : More Axe 1970-71
  1. Kaya ** Alternate
  2. Love Light Original
  3. Second Hand Original (lead vocals Peter Tosh)
  4. Jah Is Mighty "Corner Stone" Alternate
  5. Run For Cover * "Soul Rebel" Alternate
  6. Man To Man Original, later known as "Who The Cap Fits"
  7. Downpresser * (lead vocals Peter Tosh)
  8. Don't Rock my Boat * Alternate 2
  9. More Axe "Small Axe" Alternate
  10. Long Long Winter
  11. All In One Original
  12. Turn Me Loose "Kaya" Alternate

    Dub Tracks:

  13. Kaya (Version 2) * Scat Mix
  14. Battle Axe (Version) "Small Axe" Version
  15. Long Long Winter Version
  16. Second Hand Version
  17. Downpresser * Version
  18. Shocks Of Mighty "Soul Almighty" Version featuring Lee Perry
  19. Axe Man "Small Axe" Binghi Version
  20. Nicoteen "Man To Man" Version
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 5
This is Part II of what we've all been waiting for, more Wailers than you can shake a stick at ! During his years with the original Wailers Bob Marley provided a lot of songs and the 10 CD series JAD is releasing in association with long time Marley-phile Roger Steffens and French reggae devotee Bruno Blum attemps to gather all the Wailers cuts "from the end of Coxsone to the beginning of Island". JAD Records was founded in 1965 by soul singer Johnny Nash ("J") and producers Arthur Jenkins ("A) and Danny Simms ("D"). Journeying to Jamaica, JAD signed Bob Marley in 1967 as a songwriter (his "Stir It Up" and "Guava Jelly" became hits for Johnny Nash) and as a recording artist in his own right. Over 200 Marley masters remain in JAD's vaults from that era and form the basis of JAD's planned output.

Between the years of 1970 and 1971 the Wailers worked almost exclusively with Lee "Scratch" Perry, the producer of every track on this box set. And, of course, a lot of the tunes from this Lee Perry period that are included on this triple compact disc set have been around for quite a while on legal as well as "pirate" compilation sets. But none of these records have reached at least the same standards which makes this "Complete Bob Marley & Wailers" set truly outstanding and a must have for every Bob Marley & The Wailers and reggae fan: chronologically organized, good sound quality, no added production and essential contextual information with wonderful and rare pictures. Next to this every disc contains numerous dub tracks or rather instrumental versions of the songs. When one carefully listens one can hear the vocals pushed back on most of the tracks, but nevertheless "the collaboration with Lee Perry led to the invention of dub music" according to co-compiler Roger Stephens.

It was at Clement S. Dodd's legendary Studio One where Perry's natural genius was given the chance to develop. First he was promoted to talent scout and session organizer, later he became co-producer alongside of the late keyboard wizard Jackie Mittoo. In those days Perry had originally met the Wailers. When Bob, Peter and Bunny joined Perry the latter had actually left Dodd and was working in association with many of Jamaica's top producers. The recordings from this period with Lee "Scratch" Perry were the most striking and original series of records they or their producer had yet cut. Although we will never know who influenced who, these recordings marked an important turning point not only for the artists and the producer but also for Jamaican music. Behind his Upsetter record shop at Charles Street Perry started working with the trio. He supported them during their rehearsels and helped them building their own sound as he especially convinced them to drop their "doo-wop" harmony vocals. Lee "Scratch" Perry definitely played a key part in giving Marley a new voice. The first song the Wailers, Scratch and the Upsetters actually recorded at Randy's Studio at 17 North Parade was entitled "My Cup", subsequently followed by "Duppy Conqueror", "Small Axe" and "Soul Rebel". Then organ player Glen Adams turned up with the major part of the lyrics for "Mr. Brown", a song that continued the "duppy" (or ghost) theme. Equally explosive tracks released on the "Upsetter" or "Justice League" labels included Kaya", "Man To Man" and the definitive version of Richie Haven's "African Herbsman". After several recording sessions there was enough material to release. Many singles emerged from these sessions as well as two albums compiled by Lee Perry: "Soul Rebels" and "Soul Revolution". The Wailers were now very near to their creative peaks, with Marley as the dominant figure, but the less prolific Peter Tosh and Bunny Wailer also displaying their own very distinctive perspectives.

This compilation set not only perfectly showcases the development of the Wailers benefited from the distinctive and radical production ideas of Lee Perry, but also contains blueprints of songs which got their "definitive" version on the albums that brought Bob Marley worldwide recognition and made him the first "third world" star. Essential and amazing. Part three is eagerly anticipated !!