Ras Midas
JML Records
May 11, 1999

Track list
  1. Can't Stop Rastaman Now
  2. Blood In The Sky
  3. Pushing Inside
  4. Jah Jah Same Love
  5. Make We Rock So
  6. To Be Loved
  7. Kude A Bamba
  8. Stand Up Wise Up
  9. European Common Market
  10. Sunrise Sunset
  11. Rain And Fire
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4
Jamaican born Ras Midas, composer, author, singer producer and performer has been active since 1974. His first international hit was Kude A Bamba. Other hits include Can't Stop Rastaman Now and the bilingual song "Too Long In The Wind/Tot Long Temps Dans Le Vent". He has recorded in four languages : English, French, Swahili and Spanish.
This album is the rerecording of some of his greatest compositions from 1976 to 1989. It features the aforementioned hit singles Kude A Bamba and Can't Stop Rastaman Now, the latter being a reworking of the superb soul classic Ain't No Stopping Us Now. The themes on Confirmation are strictly cultural. Highlights on the album are Jah Jah Some Love over the an old Treasure Isle riddim by the Paragons, Stand Up Wise Up, the universal love song To Be Loved and the upbeat song Sunrise Sunset.
The album was recorded in Jamaica with the help of top musicians Sly & Robbie, Gitsy, Dwight Pickney, Ansell Collins, Robert Lynn, Bubbler Waul, Wire Lindo, Sticky, Scully and features on horns Dean Fraser, Nambo and Junior Chin. Background vocalists are Marcia Griffiths, Pam Hall and The Tamlins.
Ras Midas' fans all over the world will just love this album and those who aren't familiar with the output of this artist should check it out for sure!

Buy the CD