Natty Dread Rise Again
The Congos

Track list
  1. Rock of Gibraltar
  2. Step aside
  3. Music is the key
  4. Seeking a favor
  5. Judgement day
  6. Natty dread rise again
  7. Vibration
  8. This could not be happening
  9. Love is the answer
  10. Apartheid
  11. Sent to Babylon
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 3 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4
Renewed interest in this early roots vocal group - due to the Blood & Fire release of their classic "Heart Of The Congos" album - results in a new release, produced & arranged by Yvonne and Cedric Myton. Although original backing singers Ashanti Roy & Watty Burnett as well as the Meditations (who helped fill out their harmonies in the Perry days) are present this is a Cedric Myton album all the way. If you're looking for "strictly the Black Ark sound of the seventies" you won't find it here, 'cause this set has a very modern, contemporary sound. Some riddims are unbalanced, but the lyrics are ok. A few tracks tend to be overproduced.