Gappy Ranks
Cookies EP
Hot Coffee Music
Digital Release
February 27, 2012

Track list
  1. West Coast
  2. Dah Herb Deh
  3. Herbs Mi A Roll Up
  4. In Peace
  5. Maddest Ting
  6. I Wanna Get High
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
Since Jacob Lee Williams, better known as Gappy Ranks, broke big in 2009 with his initial hit "Mountain Top" and its follow up "Heaven In Your Eyes", both done for the Peckings brothers, he has become an in demand performing artist around the globe. One of his recent tours brought him to California, where he was introduced to the delicious Californian 'cookies', a new popular kush (herb). Seemingly his acquaintance with these cookies was so inspiring for the artist, that he decided to put out a digital EP with six herb tunes on his own Hot Coffee Music imprint.

Gappy Ranks' "Cookies EP" contains tracks produced by various producers from all around the world including Animal Sons (Special Delivery Music), Mustang (Hot Coffee Music), Wundah (Blessed Yute Ent.), Dan (Dynasty Records), Xillent G, and Push A Yute Records. So not really surprising that the listener is treated to a variety of sounds, ranging from the bouncy reggae backdrop of "Maddest Thing" to the minimalistic dancehall throb of "Da Herb Deh". Listening to strictly herb songs might get a bit boring, but Gappy Ranks has managed to avoid that, not least because he has paid attention to his lyrical delivery. Thus solid tunes such as "West Coast", "In Peace", "Maddest Thing", across a relick of Larry Marshall's Studio One classic "Throw Me Corn", keep you involved till the very end.

With this "Cookies EP", Gappy Ranks kicks off 2012 in real fine style.