Cool Runner
World Beatnik Records
09 - 06 - 1998

Track list
  1. Kya
  2. Cool runner
  3. Somebody
  4. Watu man
  5. Irie love
  6. One world generation
  7. Majambo
  8. Will it go round in circles ?
  9. What you see
  10. The island
  11. Big up
  12. Steppin outta time
  13. Zouk me up
  14. Living end
  15. Children of the rainbow
  16. Kya
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 3
From Dallas comes 'Cool Runner' the lastest outing of Watusi, released on the World Beatnik Records imprint. The band members originate from a variety of countries, and all these influences can be heard on the album. Next to roots reggae tracks (Somebody, Cool Runner, One world generation, Steppin outta time), the album contains dancehall reggae (Big up, Will it go round in circles ?, Watu Man), lovers rock (Irie love), Hi-Life and African Ju-Ju (Majomno, Living End) and even Zouk (What you see, Zouk me up).
The variety of styles found on 'Cool Runner' is a plus point. On most tracks the horns and keyboards prevail, thus adding strength and power to the tracks. The larger part of the tracks invite you to dance, while 'Children of the Rainbow' (complete with a very nice sax solo) is more reflective.
"Cool Runner' is a postive album, full of energy and very danceable, so "feel the vibrations and dance !"