Full Blast
Cutty Ranks
Philip Music
August 26, 2012

Full Blast - Cutty Ranks Track list
  1. Dat Mi Say
  2. Full Blast
  3. In My Place feat. Hyh Volume
  4. Look Around
  5. Murderers And Thief
  6. My Girl feat. Gwen Guthrie
  7. Rumble
  8. Way To Go feat. Beres Hammond
  9. Long Life feat. Luciano
  10. Inner Beauty feat. Alana Da Costa
  11. Mass Grave
  12. Take It Away
  13. Fren Killa
  14. Blood Stain
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
Cutty Ranks once said "A Who Seh Me Dun". Well, he's not done by any means. After a seven year hiatus, he comes roarin' back with the full length "Full Blast", released on his Philip Music label. The "Stopper' will have another chart topper.

Philip Thomas was born Feb 12, 1965 in Clarendon parish, Jamaica. He became busy at a young age; his stage name coming from a stint as a butcher. At age 11, he cut teeth at Gemini Sound System, taking part in one of the biggest sound clashes ever. He continued to sharpen lyrical iron at Tony Rebel's Rebel Tone. His reputation growing, he moved on to rankin' Kilimanjaro and Sturmars, alongside such greats as U Brown, Josey Wales, Yami Bolo, Super Cat, Nicodemus and Early B. Cutty recalls Daddy U Roy and the Colonel (Josey Wales) as foundation influences. In 1985, he released a flurry of killer singles on Winston Riley's Techniques label -- "GunMan Lyrics", "Out Of Hand" and "Fishman Lyrics". He continued ramping up with "The Bomber" (Shocking Vibes) and Pon Mi Nozzle" (Penthouse).

The dawn of the nineties saw Cutty elevate big time. His first album, "The Stopper" (Fashion) went certifiable Gold and he followed up with "Lethal Weapon" (Penthouse) in 1991. He stole the show at Sting '90-91, giving Shabba a run fe the title. Since then, he maintained his creds with "From Mi Heart" (Shanachie) and the monster "Six Million Ways To Die" (Priority) that exposed him to the big label world. This album included "A Who Seh Me Dun" (voiced on the 'Bam Bam' riddim) that won him fans the world over. At the dawn of the millennium, he put out the hip hopish "Back With A Vengeance" (Jammys) and 2005's "Hard For It" (Walboomers). Since then, he has done sporadic work into drum/bass and jungle territory.

"Full Blast" shows Cutty getting back to true form. This release utilizes some of Jamaica's best. Musicians include Flabba Holt, Danny Axeman, Obeah Denton, Dean Fraser, Lymie Murray and Althea Hewitt. Able engineering is handled by Paul Lue Chin, "Bulby" York, Quick Mix and Camal at various studios around Yard. Dat Mi Say is Dancehall tight with Cutty proclaiming his presence with a razor sharp wit that is culturally fit. The title track boasts a supreme Flabba driven riddim that is contagious, stating the gritty reality of today's world-- "talk to dem 'bout peace, them not willin', just blood spillin". In My Place allows newcomer Hyh Volume to shine and is abundant with tasty guitar licks. Look Around is Cutty spilling cultural lyrics like nobody else! Instant rewind! Murderers And Thief continues the gritty observation, but the predictable riddim falls short.

My Girl ventures into hip hop area and doesn't penetrate at first but second time around proves he can handle any fusion. Rumble is disappointing and doesn't belong on this hi-grade affair. The absolute gem is Way To Go with Beres Hammond; a Rockers riddim that truly allows both legends to roam royally. Long Life with Luciano is a roots pleaser with great horns work from Dean Fraser and backing vox from Lymie "Deeper Roots" Murray -- great track. Newcomer Alana Da Costa possesses a lioness voice with Cutty ridin' hard over a digitally correct riddim. Fren Killa is strictly Dancehall with saturated production, but Cutty still cuts thru with a steady fya delivery. Blood Stain is Cutty at his rhythming best over a pulsating riddim spiced up with nice percussion.

"Full Blast" fires on all cylinders. Cuttty Ranks has the staying power to be considered legend; when Slackness reigned, he stayed Cultural and true to himself. Free from big label restrictions, he strives hardcore on this one. In his lyrics, he makes mention of previous songs, perhaps homage of his Roots. Cutty is returning to stage at The Irie Seabreeze Festival in Long Beach, California in August and to witness his absolute fire 'pon stage is a sight to be seen. He puts out the same power in the studio and stageshow! Aside from very few glitches, "Full Blast" is a must for 2012.