Crucial Vibes
Monty Montgomery
Fusion Records
03 - 11 - 1999

Track list
  1. I'm Alive
  2. Children
  3. Rasta Queen
  4. First Time
  5. Come To Me
  6. Are You Ready ?
  7. Reggae Man
  8. Don't Take That
  9. Seeds
  10. Baby Come Back
  11. Loving Feeling
  12. Yard Musik
  13. Children (BabyAce Mix)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 3 Backing : 3/4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Veteran singer Monty Montgomery was born in Port Antonio, Jamaica. He left his native island to study law in England, but music soon took over. Monty wrote for and performed with Eddy Grant, Laurel Aitken and other reggae and ska notables. He performed all over Europe with his wildly popular ska outfit Simaryp which evolved from The Pyramids. Montgomery's song "Skinhead Moonstomp" topped the British charts in 1970 and led to the release of an album of the same name. Several of his songs (written under his given name Monty Naismith) have since become staples on many young ska band's playlists. Now Monty Montgomery steps forward with a solo album entitled "Crucial Vibes", which he recorded in Kingston, Jamaica, with Fab5 and producer Grub Cooper. Monty delivers a well varied set of songs dealing with matters of the heart and other themes over original as well as reworked well known riddims. The sound throughout the entire album is mainly light-hearted, danceable and very accessible, thus providing happy feelings of sun, sea and fun. Almost all songs are composed by Monty Montgomery himself with the exlusion of cover versions of the Righteous Brothers' "Loving Feeling" and his take on Arthur Conley's "Sweet Soul Music", which he renamed Yard Musik. All in all a nice effort from this vet in music business.