Jamaican Classics Vol. 1
Danny Axeman
Picaxe Production
Digital Release
April 4, 2016

Track list
  1. Unchained
  2. Shank I
  3. Natural Mistic
  4. Rocking Time
  5. Hot Milk
  6. Cuss Cuss
  7. Diseases
  8. Go Home
  9. Deh Wid
  10. G Wis
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : - Backing : 4 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Daniel "Axeman" Thompson is a well known Jamaican multi-instrumentalist (bass, guitar & keyboards) who also knows how to write a tune and does production as well, recently for his Picaxe Production label on which he released the compilation albums "Jamaican Classics Vol. 1", "Medic Vol. 1" and the one riddim set "Pieces Riddim".

He started his professional career in 1979 at Joe Gibbs Recording Studio and continued to the Channel One camp. The first hit song he played on was Michael Palmer's "No More Lean Boot", for Channel One. He also joined Sugar Minott's Youth Promotion in the early '80s as a member of the Black Roots Band which produced hits from Tenor Saw, Junior Reid and Little John. He went on to record with stars such as Peter Tosh, Bunny Wailer, Dennis Brown, Black Uhuru, Rita Marley, Toots Hibbert, Augustus Pablo, Ini Kamoze, U-Roy, Yellowman and has recently worked with Etana, Lutan Fyah, Gyptian, Nesbeth, Junior Kelly and many more. Daniel "Axeman" Thompson believes contemporary producers have gradually returned to reggae’s roots: "Is a cycle, yuh find a lotta the producers appreciate the live thing more. The synthesizers change the sound (in the 1980s) but things slowly getting back to the authentic feel..."

The collection of reggae classics on "Jamaican Classics Vol. 1" needs no further introduction for any one familiar with reggae music. They are all instrumental cuts, delivered inna relaxed, laid back, sometimes slightly jazzy mood - big people's music stylee as I & I would say! The album opens with two '60s classics, first there's Bob Andy's Studio One scorcher "Unchained", followed by "Shank I", the original being "Shank I Sheck", originally recorded in 1964 by Baba Brooks and produced by King Edwards. The Bob Marley cover "Natural Mystic" is done as a decent guitar driven do-over. Burning Spear's classic Studio One cut "Rocking Time" comes next, love this version! Jackie Mittoo's "Hot Milk" is a little too much synths, Lloyd Robinson's "Cuss Cuss" sounds truly better! "Diseases" was a major hit for Michigan & Smiley who used Alton Ellis' "Mad Mad" riddim as the backdrop. Danny Axeman's version is a slightly dubbbed up, nice effort! "Go Home" is an average rework of "Won't You Come Home", while "Deh Wid" is a fresh recut to Sugar Black's "Deh Wid You" with snippets of "Herbman Huistling" included, both being '80s do-overs of the "Heavenless" riddim. The album closer is "G Wis", the instrumental version of The Royals' "Pick Up The Pieces" riddim.

Smooth MOR collection!