Dance Hall Style
Horace Andy

Track list
  1. Money money
  2. Lonely woman
  3. Cuss cuss
  4. Stop the fuss
  5. Spying glass
  6. Let's live in love
  7. Eating mess
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4
Horace Andy was one of the first and best of the early reggae singers with major hits like "Skylarking" (which he did for Studio One) and "Money is the root of all evil" for producer Bunny "Striker" Lee. Wether recording in Kingston JA or in other places of this world, he kept his sleepy choirboy delivery and conscious roots intact as is showcased on this album he recorded in 1984 for New York based Lloyd "Bullwackie" Barnes, now as a re-release available on compact disc. On this 46 minutes lasting heavyweight, echo-laden, weird and most of all mindblowing experience, Horace Andy's languid concentrated delivery is meticulous and subversive. His voice lulls you, slowly knocking the pinions from beneath you one by one until you come gently to rest on his own gliding terms. Different but certainly essential stuff from "Sleepy" !