Dance On The Corner
Jah Thomas
Roots Records
November 14, 2007

Track list
  1. Praise God
  2. Mister Walker
  3. Dance On The Corner
  4. General 007
  5. Trackas
  6. Natty Dread The Traveller
  7. Cricket Lovely Cricket
  8. Best Dress
  9. Bad Man Entry
  10. Marijuana
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3/4
Jah Thomas was born as Nkrumah Thomas in Kingston on the 27th of August, 1955. His parents christened their son after the first president of former British colony Ghana - Kwame Nkrumah. Into his teens Thomas soon picked up the title "Jah" for his rastafarian locks and outlook. Cutting his teeth at Gemini, his fresh approach led to work at most of Kingston Sound Systems - King Stereograph, Killamanjaro, Soul Imperial and finally King Jammy's.

The next step was to make a record. His first single on the GG label "Midnight Rock" was a hit and became his signature tune. Only being a deeJay was never enough for Jah Thomas. He wanted to cut out the middle man and so set up his own label "Midnight Rock" to push his productions. His first self produced single Cricket Lovely Cricket was an instant hit in Jamaica and encouraged Jah Thomas to invest more into his Midnight Rock label. A lot of releases followed from Anthony Johnson, Ranking Toyan and Barry Brown - to name just a few. Roots Records, concentrating themselves on Jah Thomas and U-Brown productions, have rereleased the "Dance On The Corner" album in 2006.

The album was recorded 1979 and guess what - right, Roots Radics are the backing band, Channel One is the studio and King Tubby's was the place were the mixing was done. The sound was new and fresh and this you can hear on all of the tunes on this release. The album kicks off with Praise God on the always fresh sounding "My Conversation" riddim, which is also the foundation for Cricket Lovely Cricket. Some of the tunes are versions of early Barrington Levy's hits, e.g. the title track Dance On The Corner, which is on Barrington Levy's "Looking My Love" using the "Real Rock" riddim. Other outstanding tunes are Trackas, and Best Dress (on the "Pretty Looks" riddim). Unfortunately no bonus tracks are added and so the cd stops after 37 minutes.

All in all this is more than a fine early dancehall album and it is definitely highly recommended - "Hail Jah Thomas, long time me a look fi you".