Dance Wicked
Michael Rose

Track list
  1. Happiness
  2. Dance wicked
  3. Lion in the jungle (featuring Maxi Priest)
  4. Run dem a run
  5. Dreadlocks
  6. Reality
  7. Landlord
  8. See and blind
  9. I don't want to say goodbye
  10. Mind made up
  11. Never get me down
  12. Life in the ghetto
  13. Mind made up (soul mix)
  14. Mind made up (soul up instrumental)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5
A wicked new album from reggae's first Grammy-winner and former lead singer of Black Uhuru, Michael Rose. He effortlessly rides the rhythm with his full, skillful voice and inspiring lyrics on this Mafia & Fluxy produced album. Mafia & Fluxy (with the addition of Red Eye) are also involved as musicians and it's only fair to say that the rhythms laid down by these U.K. "riddim twins" are fitting this unique singer/songwriter very well. Even on the fast-paced, beat-dominated riddims (like "Run Dem A Run") he really sounds good, although singers like Michael Rose usually have problems mastering it. The album starts out with a track refering to his heydays with Black Uhuru (a modern remake of "Happiness"), followed by a set of tunes showing he's a force to be reckoned with in the '90s as well. With "Dance Wicked", a decent follow-up to an other Heartbeat album, the highly acclaimed "Be Yourself", Michael Rose confirms he's one of JA's best singers.

Other Michael Rose albums :

Michael Rose : Dub Wicked
Michael Rose : Party In Session - Live
Michael Rose : Selassie I Showcase