The Best Of Reggae Live
Dennis Brown
11 - 05 - 2001

Track list
  1. Intro - Medley
  2. Here I Come
  3. Speech
  4. It's Magic, Sorry, Hypocrities
  5. Wild Fire
  6. Inseparable, Memories, Inseparable
  7. You've Lost That Loving Feeling, On Broadway
  8. Speech
  9. Bob Marley Medley: Heathen, War, Get Up Stand Up
  10. Stop Fighting, Don't Hurt My Feelings, Stop Fighting
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3
Dennis Brown has to be considered one of the most prolific and popular reggae artists ever. He was born in 1956 and started recording for producer Coxsone Dodd, while still in his childhood. In the 70s and early 80s he established himself as a major force in reggae music with numerous roots and lovers cuts for several leading producers. Throughout his three decades spanning career he has delivered about 65 albums, compilation sets included - he has always continued to win new fans and please old ones with his music. So, it's no wonder Dennis Brown has been called one of the most dependable performers in reggae. In fact, the late great Bob Marley referred to him as his favorite singer, which is quite a compliment. In the nineties he remained a name always worth watching out for. He passed away on July 1st, 1999. A whole generation of Jamaicanís and reggae fans literally grew up with his music. A devout Rastafarian and a member of the Twelve Tribes of Israel Organization, Dennis Brown was a musical genius and he will be dearly missed. No doubt Dennis Brown (also known as the Crown Prince of Reggae Music) was one of Jamaica's sweet-voiced singers, who has never limited himself to one style. Whether it is lovers rock, roots & culture or dancehall music, he truly can handle it all and this live album proves it once again.
The label Innerbeat Music was created in late 1999 and started releasing live albums by artists such as Dennis Brown, Gregory Isaacs, Lt. Stitchie and Frankie Paul alongside The Mighty Diamonds. One of their strongest live sets is this Dennis Brown set. We guess it was recorded somewhere in the late eighties and both Dennis and the band are in excellent form! The band plays very tight and Dean Fraser's saxophone adds a mellow mood to most of the songs. As always he starts his performance with Here I Come, followed by a speech in which he praises Jah. Then follows the wonderful It's Magic that passes into Sorry and Hypocrites. He masterfully combines the songs Inseparable and Memories. Also included is the inevitable Bob Marley medley, featuring The Heathen, War and Get Up And Stand Up.
For us this is one of the best Dennis Brown's live recordings !