Dennis Brown In Dub
Dennis Brown & The Observers
17 - 02 - 2002

Track list
  1. Land of the Father (Africa)
  2. Fire from the Observer (Cassandra)
  3. Lock and Key (Open The Gate)
  4. Youth Man (Conqueror)
  5. Sir Niney's Rock (Give A Helping Hand)
  6. Worthless Trap (You're No Good)
  7. No Mercy (My Time)
  8. Take A Dub (Take A Trip)
  9. Dubbing With The Observer (Live After You)
  10. Thief (Yagga Yagga)
  11. Pay The Rent (Tenement Yard)
  12. Revelation Fulfill (Tribulation)
  13. Come Dub (Here I Come Again)
  14. Jam Down (No More Will I Roam)
  15. Fire From The Observer Station (Westbound Train)
  16. Mischievous Dub (Wolf And Leopards)
  17. Mr. D Brown Dub (Rock It With Me)
  18. Dub Around The World (Traveling Man)
  19. Silver Bullet (Silver Words)
  20. One In The World Style (Westbound Train)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : - Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 4/5
"Dennis Brown in Dub" is filled with top dub shots produced by Niney the Observer and mixed by the legendary King Tubby. It includes the original dub release of "Cassandra" as well as nineteen other scorching dubs taken from the vaults of the Observer label. Niney was the top militant producer and Dennis Brown was his number one artist. Together they chalked up hit after hit with some of the greatest songs of their respective careers. Niney's rhythms were made to be dubbed and King Tubby was the legendary dub mix master who took the Observer tracks to new heights of mutated intensity. The album includes rare 7" mixes never released on CD. Also included are a sampling of tracks from the 'Dubbing With The Observer' set, as well as alternate mixes of several songs found on that album. Songs like the dubs of 'Yagga Yagga' and 'Take A Trip' are extremely rare and some versions like the alternate mix of 'Wolf And Leopards' are previously unreleased. The tracks were recorded in several Jamaican recording studios such as Joe Gibbs', Randy's Studio 17, Black Ark Studio and even at Chalk Farm Studio in the UK. Musicians include Santa, Benbow, Sly Dunbar, Horsemouth, Fully, Keith Sterling, Ansel Collins, Ossie Hibbert, Chinna Smith, Tony Chin and the horns of Tommy McCook, Herman Marquis, Vin Gordon and Bobby Ellis.