Don Campbell
Any Day Now
VP Records-Walboomers Music
June 15 - 2003

Track list
  1. Redemption Song
  2. What Do You Want
  3. Any Day Now
  4. Only God Can Judge
  5. When I Look At You
  6. Handyman
  7. Miss Don To Be feat. Bajjaq Jedd
  8. Last Night
  9. Tired Of Being Alone
  10. Hey Girl
  11. Get To Know Love feat. Mical Rustle
  12. Ho La La
  13. Loving Arms
  14. Like Everybody
  15. Wanna Dance
  16. Memories
  17. Miss Don To Be
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
In 1980 Don Campbell joined Undivided Roots alongside Fish Brown, Tony Philips and Carlton Ogilvie, all members of today's highly rated Ruff Cutt band. Based in his native NW London, a dreadlocked Don - then known as Eek-A-Roo - played all the drums and some guitar and bass on Undivided Roots' first album, in addition to singing backing vocals. It was as Undivided Roots' drummer that he backed Barrington Levy, Ranking Dread and many other top reggae artists of the eighties, his talents as a solo artist only being highlighted several years later, when Jugglin' Records produced his debut album 'Don Campbell-The Album'. In 1994 he was voted Best UK Male Singer, Best UK Single (See It In Your Eyes). Later on he formed pop/reggae duo Saint/Campbell alongside deejay General Saint - a combo that quickly secured international chart action with a cover of Neil Sedaka's 'Oh Carol', and recorded an equally impressive album in its wake. After an all too brief, but critically acclaimed stint with Copasetic Records, Don returned to join his childhood friends Carlton Ogilvie and producer Carl 'Dillie' Perry at the latter's Big House Studio - a move which inspired a steady supply of hit singles for both Stingray and Saxon. It was their first productions that promptly elevated him to the forefront of the grassroots' reggae scene once more, a progression sealed with the release of his follow up solo album 'Never Burn Your Bridges' on the Stingray imprint. Since then he has continued to write and record inspirational songs for Britain's leading producers.
Now Don has joined forces with another famous Campbell (producer Lloyd Campbell) in creating the album, "Any Day Now". The CD contains 17 lovers rock tracks recorded in Mafia & Fluxy's studio and Sound Mixers Studio. The backing on most tracks is provided by the UK Riddim Twins Mafia and Fluxy. Don's choice of covers is perfect : the first two tunes - Marley's Redemption Song and the Jackie Mittoo cover What Do You Want are fine reggae classics, but Al Green's tune Tired Of Being Alone is a fine soul classic and the James Taylor hit song Handy Man was a solid pop hit song. The title track is a Burt Bacharach evergreen, perfectly restyled into a reggae tune. Don is a good songwriter and the album contains nuff originals, written by Don, Mafia and Fluxy, and F. Livermore.
Highlights here are the catchy ska flavored Miss Don To Be featuring deejay Bajja Jedd, the track is also featured as a solo outing by Don. Only God Can Judge is a strong reality tune coming straight from Don's heart. The tune Got To Know Love features the vocal support of Mical Rustle, and Loving Arms is an updated version of The Ethiopians tune 'The Whip' with backing vocals by Pam Hall.
Looking for smooth vocals, fine lovers tunes.....check this one out !