Rise Up
Don Campbell
Artists Only! Records - Walboomers Music
01 - 07 - 2001

Track list
  1. I'll Never Give Up
  2. Never Burn Your Bridges
  3. Rise Up
  4. Good Luvin'
  5. Sniff & Ride
  6. Youths Of Today
  7. Mother
  8. She's The Only One
  9. Need To Know
  10. I Believe
  11. Hypocrites
  12. Anything For You
  13. Don't Leave
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
In 1980 Don joined Undivided Roots alongside Fish Brown, Tony Philips and Carlton Ogilvie, all members of today's highly rated Ruff Cutt band. Based in his native NW London, a dreadlocksed Don - then known as Eek-A-Roo - played all the drums and some guitar and bass on Undivided Roots' first album, in addition to singing backing vocals. It was as Undivided Roots' drummer that he backed Barrington Levy, Ranking Dread and many other top reggae artists of the eighties, his talents as a solo artist only being highlighted several years later, when Jugglin' Records produced his debut album 'Don Campbell-The Album'. In 1994 he was voted Best UK Male Singer, Best UK Single (See It In Your Eyes). Later on he formed pop/reggae duo Saint/Campbell alongside deejay General Saint - a combo that quickly secured international chart action with a cover of Neil Sedaka's 'Oh Carol', and recorded an equally impressive album in its wake. After an all too brief, but critically acclaimed stint with Copasetic Records, Don returned to join his childhood friends Carlton Ogilvie and producer Carl 'Dillie' Perry at the latter's Big House Studio - a move which inspired a steady supply of hit singles for both Stingray and Saxon. It was their first productions that promptly elevated him to the forefront of the grassroots' reggae scene once more, a progression sealed with the release of his follow up solo album 'Never Burn Your Bridges' on the Stingray imprint. Since then he has continued to write and record inspirational songs for Britain's leading producers.
Artists Only! Records now puts out a superb 13 track album, which was produced by C & R Mcleod for Stingray Records. All tracks were recorded and mixed at the Big House Music Studio in London. Backing musicians include Kenton Brown, Carlton Ogilvie, Computer Paul, Tony Philips, Winston Rose, Noel Browne, Dean Fraser and Don himself.
As expected, Don Campbell's vocal delivery - singing in his usual heartfelt and searching manner - stands surety for some boom tunes such as Never Burn Your Bridges, I'll Never Give Up and Don't Leave. Although Don is best known for delivering moving love songs he also knows how to write and sing a decent roots tune. Check out the excellent Youths Of Today, Hypocrites and the title track Rise Up. Further interesting tunes found here are the combination tune with Mikey Spice Need To Know and the r&b flavored ballad Sniff & Ride.
"Rise Up" is a top quality album by Don Campbell.