Lloyd Brown
Charm-Jet Star

Track list
  1. Intro
  2. Father's Eyes
  3. Hook It up
  4. I Know
  5. Innercity Blues feat. Don Campbell, Peter Hunnigale, Noel McKoy & Phoebe One
  6. Fill Me In
  7. Memories
  8. Ride On
  9. Another Song
  10. Cold
  11. Forbidden Lovers feat. Pam Hall
  12. You Only Live Once
  13. It's All Good
  14. Prisoner in The Street
  15. Listen Me Good feat. Don Ricardo
  16. Humanity Pt 2
  17. Make Ends Meet
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
The 1999 released classic "Rhyme & Reason" double CD set from UKs premier vocalist Lloyd Brown got rave reviews and caused quite a stir among the fans of well produced UK Reggae music. "Deep" is Lloyd Brown's long awaited follow up to "Rhyme & Reason" (which was co-produced by Lloyd "Musclehead" Francis of Saxon) and once again this excellent singer delivers a masterpiece. Tracks like the great pop-reggae version of Craig David's "Fill Me In", the C&W flavored "Memories" and the superb version of Marvin Gaye's "Innercity Blues", to name a few, demonstrate how Lloyd Brown's range of material is by no means restricted to lovers rock and roots reality alone. This aspect, as well as the first-class arrangements and also the in-depth and complex lyrical content of his self-penned songs, make "Deep" a very enjoyable and entertaining set, one of sheer beauty.
The album kicks off with counterpoint, gospel harmonies before the first full length track, Father's Eyes", drops in. Besides the wonderful musical backdrop and Brown's great vocal delivery one is truly touched by the deep, meaningful lyrics of this excellent tune. "Hook It Up", a cut over Luciano's "Bandits" riddim, fully showcases why Lloyd Brown belongs to the 'cream of the crop' when it comes to performing a tune in lovers rock style. Other tracks delivered in the same vein are the moving "Cold" and the impressive combination tune with Pam Hall called "Forbidden Lovers". On the other hand he doesn't ignore his reggae roots as can be witnessed while playing a wonderful piece called "I Know", performed across the Rasites' revamped cut of Bob Marley's "Kinky Reggae" riddim. The same goes for tracks like for example "Ride On" (written by Third World's Bunny Ruggs and done in combination with co-producer Bitty McLean), the wicked "Humanity Pt. 2" (a fitting tribute to the late Prince Lincoln) and the awesome "Listen Me Good", which sees Lloyd Brown teaming up with new British reggae sensation Don Ricardo. With the inclusion of such notable songs like "Another Song" (featuring Sly Dunbar on drums), "You Only Live Once", "It's All Good", "Prisoner In The Street" and the haunting "Make Ends Meet", it's obvious that this set is studded with musical gems from start to finish.
Lloyd Brown's "Deep" touches your heart and soul with sincere lovers rock and reality music of the highest quality!