Deeper Roots
Al Campbell
Reggae Road-Jet Star
07 - 08 - 2001

Track list
  1. Message In A Bottle
  2. Praise Jah
  3. Sound Killer
  4. Babylon Freeze
  5. Zion Is Calling
  6. Ello HIM
  7. That's The Way Love Goes
  8. United
  9. Who Tell Dem Fe Call Me
  10. Boom Shot
  11. Babylon Yard
  12. African Story
  13. Jah Ites Gold And Green
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
During the rocksteady era Al Campbell - born 1954 in Kingston, Jamaica - made his recording debut at the legendary Studio One as the frontman of a group called the Thrillers. After he had left the Thrillers he formed a duo with Freddie McGregor, but things really started off when he pursued a solo career. Over the past thirty years this distinctive singer never sticked to one particular style, but recorded successfully in just about all of the many styles through which reggae music has passed. Thus he has built an impressive collection of hit singles and albums recorded for himself and other leading producers, much of which can be purchased on his own "Reggae Road" imprint. Musical history has learned us that every now and then Al Campbell managed to come up with something a little special. Just one listen to his brand new album entitled "Deeper Roots", and one can tell that this gifted songwriter and distinctive singer has done it again. Although he has proven to be equally at home with lovers as well as roots tunes this set mainly brings roots-oriented music, delivered by an artist whose unique and impassionate vocal style never fails to impress.
The conscious mood is set from the first track, "Message In A Bottle" (NOT a cover of the Police hit tune!), and it continues until the Ruff Cutt produced "Jah Ites Gold And Green", the final of the thirteen tracks. Both songs are outstanding efforts, but also among the remaining eleven tracks one can find some truly excellent pieces like for example "Babylon Freeze", "Ello HIM", "Boom Shot" and "African Story". Other great tunes are "Babylon Yard" across the "Heathen" riddim, and "Praise Jah", which is delivered over a reworking of the classic "Sata Massa Gana" riddim. In fact none of the tracks featured on this album are below par or boring!! All tracks - except "Jah Ites Gold And Green" - are recorded at the Cave Studio, London UK, and feature such renown musicians as Mafia & Fluxy and the Ruff Cutt Band.
With the release of "Deeper Roots" Al Campbell adds another notable chapter to his songbook.