Deepness Of Life
Victor Steven
Notty Records
13 - 01 - 2001

Track list
  1. I Come To Make Peace
  2. God Is In The Midst
  3. I Want To Be Free
  4. I Did Not Come To Bow
  5. Rasta Man Conscious
  6. Black People
  7. Love In My Heart
  8. I Love My Life
  9. Hold Back
  10. My Woman Is Gone
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 3/4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 2
It's not very often one gets seriously impressed by a newcomers' debut album as happened while spinning Victor Steven's "Deepness Of Life". Vocally and lyrically this fine singer/songwriter immediately captures your attention and involvement, thus causing that impalpable feeling which more or less forces you to activate the repeat-function on your CD player.
Victor Steven a.k.a. Steven Victor Flemming was born on August 1, 1973 on the island of St. Kitts. At the age of 16 he moved to the United States Virgin Island of St. Croix where he actually started his musical career as a songwriter and lead singer in a local group. Four years later he moved to Atlanta where he started recording on a professional level in 1995.
Now Victor Steven unleashes his self-produced debut set "Deepness Of Life", which features his one single so far "Love In My Heart". Ten captivating songs on this album, showing an artist who reasons about life, love, spirituality. Although every piece has its own merit, Victor Steven impresses most in big tunes like "I Want To Be Free", "I Did Not Come To Bow", "Rasta Man Conscious", "Black People" and "I Love My Life". However, the most striking effort is the wonderful "My Woman Is Gone" - actually a free interpretation of Bob Marley's "No Woman, No Cry" - which fully showcases Victor Steven's inimitable vocal delivery as the singer is merely accompanied by an acoustic guitar.
Although it is obvious that this album lacks the production quality of a release from a big independent label or even a major record company, it is due to Victor Steven's unique vocal performance, the conscious lyrical content of his songs and some well laid fresh riddims that his first effort is remarkably strong. If this talented artist gets the opportunity to record his tunes in a well equiped recording and mixing studio, followed by an album release for an established record label, we are pretty sure that it will be only a matter of time before he breaks big. Mark our words!