Destiny ~ Rare Ska Sides From Studio One
Bob Marley & The Wailers

Track list
  1. Destiny
  2. Wages Of Love
  3. Do You Feel The Same Way Too
  4. Your Love
  5. Don't Ever Leave Me (Take 1)
  6. Don't Ever Leave Me (Take 2)
  7. I Need You So
  8. Rock Sweet Rock
  9. Another Dance
  10. I Stand Predominant
  11. Where Is My Mother (Acoustic Version)
  12. Where Is My Mother (Band Take)
  13. Dance With Me
  14. What's New Pussycat
  15. Treat Me Good
  16. Jerking Time (a.k.a. Jerk In Time)
  17. Do It Right
  18. Let The Lord Be Seen In Me
  19. White Christmas (Bonus Track)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 5
Destiny is the fifth volume on the Heartbeat imprint consisting of material recorded by the original Wailers between July of 1963 and August of 1966 for Coxsone Dodd. During the band's collaboration with Coxsone Dodd the Wailers recorded every different kind of music Coxsone requested of them. So the Wailers recorded traditional mento and calypso, gospel, folk, doo wop harmony, soul and pop covers, Christmas songs as well as their own material. They were also often called upon to harmonize with other artists like Lord Brynner, Jackie Opel, Delroy Wilson or Lee Perry. The label will complete their documentation of these historically important recordings by finally making available every song cut during this time by the teenage Wailers including several unissued titles and many previously unhear alternate takes.
On this album you'll find superb tracks such as Do You feel The Same Way Too, a mid tempo ska tune backed by the Skatalites with solo from alto sax man, Lester Sterling, the uptempo and very danceable track Another Dance recorded in 1965, a song Bunny Wailer superbly reworked on his classic 'Rock'n'Groove' album, the upbeat ska scorcher Destiny from mid July 1964 with featured trumpet solo by Johnny 'Dizzy' Moore.
Further standout tracks are the Bunny Wailer composition Rock Sweet Rock with Bunny singing lead with backup from Peter Tosh, Constantine Walker and Rita Marley. Peter Tosh' latest single before his tragic death in 1987 was a version of this tune retitled as 'Rock With Me', the mid tempo chugging ska tune I Stand Predominant the first overtly Rastafarian statement that Bunny Wailer made on record with its theme of faith and its use of the Rasta code words 'I and I'. He resurrected the song in 1980 for his album 'Bunny Wailer Sings The Wailers' and finally the blazing uptempo Do It Right with Bob singing lead with Bunny, Peter and Beverly Kelso singing harmony in support of Bob's lead.
From a historical point of view this album has to be regarded as a crucial Bob Marley & The Wailers release, however from a musicial point of view not every track delivered by the teenage Wailers is above average.