September 29, 2006

Track list
  1. Opener
  2. Herzlich Willkommen
  3. Burning Nonstop (RMX) feat. Wayne Marshall
  4. Wir Bleiben! (Unser Weg RMX)
  5. Endlich Wieder Da feat. Nessa
  6. Heizz
  7. Du Gehst Mit Mir (RMX) feat. Xavier Naidoo
  8. Check feat. Vybz Kartel
  9. Genau So
  10. Zu Viele Gimmix feat. Blaze
  11. Ganja Air (Skit)
  12. Flyin' High
  13. S'Lebbe Geht Weidda
  14. Nett Mit Mir!!!
  15. Call Me Crazy feat. Wayne Marshall
  16. Nuh Like Dem Neither feat. Camp Lo
  17. No Compromises feat. Jahmali & Detecta
  18. Mom Song
  19. Hörst Du Mich? feat. Xavier Naidoo
  20. Burning Nonstop (Dancehall Mix) feat. Wayne Marshall
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 3
The deepest voice of Germany is back after a two year break following his great (but also heavily criticized) "Unaufhaltsam" with 20 new tracks (including skits) on "FFM". FFM for D-Flame's own virtual radiostation Flame FM - with stationcalls appearing in nearly every song - as well as for Frankfurter Fire Man and his city Frankfurt Am Main. After the short "Opener" stationcall, this concept is explained in the hip hop, produced by Frankfurt's hot beatcreator Lex Barkey "Herzlich Willkommen" before Wayne Marshall joins D-Flame for the great combination "Burning Nonstop (RMX)", an extremely catchy dancehall tune. "Wir Bleiben (Unser Weg RMX)" is the remix of the tune D-Flame contributed to Pionear's "Rodeo Europe" on Germaican Records and though the Lex Barkey remix works well, I prefer the version over Seeed's 'Rodeo'-riddim. The very relaxed beats of "Endlich Wieder Da" celebrating summer as a party season with great soulful female vocals by Nessa countering his deep voice are destined for mainstream crossover, followed by the electro bounce coming from Hamburg's Quincy 'Phrequincy' Jefferson for the party tune "Heizz" and the very soulful "Du Gehst Mit Mir (RMX)" featuring German soul superstar Xavier Naidoo. Two of dancehall hottest stars, producer Don Corleon and DJ Vybz Kartel, lend a hand on one of the hottest tunes on this album and indeed "Check" turns out to be a real dancehall scorcher, followed by the slow hip hop jams "Genau So" and "Zu Viele Gimmix" featuring Germany's rising rap star Blaze both showcasing D-Flame's unique flow. The funny "Ganja Air (Skit)" with its we'd like to inform you that this is a smoking flight is the intro to the smokers tune "Flyin' High" over a beautiful laid-back Phrequincy riddim with equally laid-back D-Flame rapping over it. D-Flame is in a more upful mood this whole album than he's ever been before, as "S'Lebbe Geht Weida" over Lex Barkey's dancehall-hip hop hybrid makes clear, but his don't-f*ck-with-me-attitude hasn't disappeared completely as "Nett Mit Mir!!!" shows perfectly. Wayne Marshall is featured once more on Lex Barkey's more electro-hip hop than dancehall beats backed "Call Me Crazy" and this time the combination struggles more than over a dancehall riddim, could have been a much better tune over a dancehall riddim. That is however completely compensated for on the combination with Bronx hip hop legends Camp Lo "Nuh Like Dem Neither". "No Compromises" is a pure roots tune in combination with Jahmali's smooth singing and Detecta over House Of Riddim's Sam Gilly for fellow Austrians Bassrunner Productions impressive 'Tragedy'. The tribute to his mother in "Mom Song" is as sentimental as it gets, but despite more famous and better attempts at it, this hip hop piano ballad is still above par, followed by another ballad, now alongside once more Xavier Naidoo and it's an excellent way of saying sorry in "Hörst Du Mich?". Closing this album, a little less dancehall inspired and a little less impressive than "Unaufhaltsam", but still a strong album that definitely has tunes with crossover potential, is the "Burning Nonstop (Dancehall RMX)" showing once more that D-Flame alongside Wayne Marshall over a dancehall riddim is a combination that's hard to beat. "FFM" is definitely worth checking out, especially if you don't shy away from hip hop and German rap.