Children Of Innocence
Caribbean Run Records

Track list
  1. Rub a dub dancing
  2. Why can't we all get along
  3. Loving you endlessly
  4. Baby come to me
  5. Merry go round
  6. Give it up
  7. Children of innocence
  8. Don't cry
  9. Memories of the past
  10. Zion gate
  11. Hey Joe
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Djaté originates from Dominica, West Indies. He's a singer, songwriter and guitarist who moved to the United States in 1977 and started playing with various reggae bands. In 1982 he developed his own band 'Roots Experience'. His first single 'Rock With You' was released in 1987 and became a local hit in Houston. Recently he toured with Culture for three and a half year as lead guitarist.
His latest cd 'Children Of Innocence" is a self produced project and contains 11 tracks in the 'roots rock pop' style. It's a mixed set of conscious tunes, lovers rock and a cover of the Jimmy Hendrix classic 'Hey Joe'. On this album Djaté combines his influences into an amalgamating of positive, vibrant music that speaks from the heart. There's a refreshing variation of riddims on his album : 'one drop' reggae on the infectious opening track 'Rub a dub dancing', hardrock orientated on 'Hey Joe', being one of the hardest reggae interpretations, fast paced, uplifting reggae on 'Why can't we all get along', and a slow paced beat on the love song 'Loving you endlessly'. 'Baby come to me' is a fine soulful/jazzy tune and 'Merry go round' is an emotional outcry against the criminal "juveniles with guns". The subtle, but delightful use of the lead guitar on most of the tracks ads extra power to Djaté's tunes.
A nice and enjoyable outing from Djaté !