Top Notch/V2

Track list
  1. Foundation
  2. Stolen Arts
  3. Homeland '96 (Interlude)
  4. Cocktail
  5. Corrosion (Featuring U-Niq & Sonny Diablo)
  6. Basement '93 (Interlude)
  7. Crisis
  8. Cocktales (Featuring U-Niq, Sonny Diablo & E-Life)
  9. Build On Blood
  10. Renaissance (Featuring Dignity)
  11. Basement '94 (Interlude)
  12. This Life
  13. Brotherly Love
  14. Precise '95 (Interlude)
  15. U Wait
  16. Homeland '97
  17. When In Doubt (Featuring E-Life)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Dutch reggae/hiphop collective Postmen, named after the Burning Spear song "African Postmen", went through a hectic summer after the success of their debut single "Cocktail". This song became a big summer hit in Holland and reached the top 20 of several Dutch charts. Their new single "U Wait" is already doing well in the charts and now the group - consisting of rapper/producer Anonymus Mis, singer Rolla Rocker and scratcher G-Boah - released their surprising debut album "Documents". This album is a mix of roots reggae and hiphop and the group is assisted by Dutch hiphop artists U-Niq, E-Life and Sonny Diablo and the excellent Dutch female R 'N' B group Dignity. Postmen wants to deliver a message with every song, so all songs on "Documents" are based on personal experiences. The single "U Wait" critisizes people who sit and wait till the world changes without taking any action and "Brotherly Love" is about Mis' brother who spent some years in jail. Other highlights of the album are the excellent song "Renaissance", definitely a future single, the roots song "Build On Blood" and When In Doubt". Between the songs you will find some interludes of beats and riddims that were recorded by the group over the past years. "Documents" is a nice debut album from a group that has the potential of an international breakthrough.
Review courtesy of Danny "Pepperseed" Bouten