Don't Lose Yourself
Rising Lion
RPH Productions

Track list
  1. Just Because I'm Dred
  2. Inna De Ghetto
  3. Don't Lose Yourself
  4. Landmine
  5. Rising To The Top
  6. No Peace No Justice
  7. Don't Leave Me
  8. House Of Dred
  9. This Is Life
  10. All Along The Watchtower
  11. Revolution
  12. Don't Bogart Me
  13. Just Because I'm Dub
  14. This Is Dub
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
From the RPH Productions camp comes Rising Lion's latest album called 'Don't Lose Yourself'. Coming from New York, where the album was recorded at Ruff Stuff Studio, Rising Lion delivers a pleasant and sunny album, combining melodic harmonies and crushing funky grooves. The roots rock reggae of Rising Lion is full of positive energy and pulsed by a vigorous Jamaican vibration and complimented by influences from the States. Listening to the album you can hear that the music offered here is deeply influenced by the spiritual and social messages intrinsic in the music of Bob Marley, Peter Tosh and Jacob Miller.
Although not all tunes are killer tracks, it's not hard to point out standout tracks. Check out the hip hop influenced title track Don't Lose Yourself, start dancing to the one drop beat of Landmine and the swinging sound of No Peace No Justice. The album includes interesting cover tunes. First there's Bob Dylan's All Along The Watchtower and then comes Country Joe McDonald's 'Don't Bogart That Joint', here re-titled as Don't Bogart Me, but I have to say I prefer Little Feat's version of this song. The album closes with two dub tracks.